Give Me Oxygen...


Advertisement
Published: June 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

El Tatia GeysersEl Tatia GeysersEl Tatia Geysers

These geysers are at 4300m ASL and the temp was a warm minus 15 degrees celsius at the time
Well, I survived the bus journey to San Pedro. Now its time to survive the altitude!. San Pedro is at 2440m ASL, and initially it is a bit of a shock to the old system with headaches and breathlessness, but that seemed to diasppear after a couple of hours.

I booked a trip to see sthe El Tatia geysers ,and off to relax in some hot springs - all with the lovely incentive of having to get up at 4am!!
The geysers were not quite the spectacular sight I was expecting, in fact they were really only simmering when we were there, but it was still worth it.
The hot springs were thouroughly enjoyable, even if I did manage to end up with sunburn. It was a bit strange sitting in a pool of water in a valley when the temperature outside was below freezing!!

San Pedro is a place that seems to have been built purely for tourism, as all there is there are restaurants and tour offices. It also seemed a small world, as I bumped into people I had met in Santiago , and also into people I had met in La serena.

Managed to watch Chile beat Venezuela in the football in a bar in San Pedro - once again the atmosphere was something else!!

On my second day there I went to Valle de la luna to see the sunset, it was quite spectacular, and unfortunately my photography skills didn´t do it justice!

I have also booked a 3 day jeep trip for tomorrow that will take me from San Pedro over to Uyuni in Boliva - should be fun!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Hot SpringsHot Springs
Hot Springs

These springs were lovely to sit in, but freezing getting out!


25th June 2008

Mooning
Despite your claimed failure with the camera, you have managed to get a couple of pretty decent shots in there Trev. Well done! Now watch out for the hemmies when you do the 3 day jeep trip into Bolivia! Make you squeal in that steamed up tropical mountain jungle -- ooooooaah! ;-))
26th June 2008

"Bath Time"
Long way to go for a bath Trev! I think your pics are brilliant. Perhaps its time you gave up the fags! Love Mumx

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb