Cool to see the Moon


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Coquimbo Region » La Serena
June 16th 2008
Published: June 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I´ve now arrived in La Serena, after a 7 hr bus journey , along what can only be described as a never changing lanscape, of mountains and cactuses on one side, and the Pacific Ocean on the other.

I´ve managed to find myself staying in another Hostel, where I am the only one there - I seem to be developing a knack for it, and it is also the coldest place on earth - It feels warmer when you go outside! - You cant see your own breath then!

I am here until Tuesday - a couple of days longer than I wanted to be , but it was the earliest I could get a bus up to San Pedro de Atacama ( a mere 17 hr bus journey!)

I spent Saturday night at an observertory about an hour or so outside of La Serena ( the minibus driver made us all laugh though - he looked and spoke just like the french policeman out of Allo Allo!!) , and it was quite a view ( a cold one though!). Got to see some good shots of the moon - have attached a couple of photos.

I wanted to go to visit the penguin sanctuary up the coast on the Sunday, but could not get a booking - the price you pay for low season I guess!

Found out that there isn´t a great deal to do here especially on a Sunday!!! - Except drink nice Chillean wine!









Advertisement



20th June 2008

Vino del Valps
I told you the wine was good, so good it helps overcome Sunday routine in La Serena. Had the horse left town too? Moon looks much the same as from here - white and grey and all blurred. You didn't miss too much with the Penguins Colony, nowt but noise, Penguin projectile poo and smell of fish! Enjoy St Pete of Atacama.
21st June 2008

Doing a Cool "Moonie"
Great pics Trev, realy Cool. Put them both side by side and it could be you doing a "Moonie"!. Do you think these Hostels have advanced warning of your arrival? Keep taking the wine!. Enjoy your long trip to San Pedro Alacama. Love Mum x

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0781s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb