Concepcion Marathon


Advertisement
Published: April 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Beach Party 2Beach Party 2Beach Party 2

Meagan, Adrienne, Emily and Kathy
I'm not sure how much time has to pass before a blog is officially "defunct", but I'm sure I'm pushing the limits here. Things were busy for a while: teaching classes, helping professors, and tutoring a high school English teacher mainly . . . but I know, no excuse. But this week is "semana mechona", or, literally, "lock of hair week" where the freshmen are welcomed/hazed and the guys all get this horrible haircut that involves a razor and results in a rat tail and, since this is a "college town", an entire demographic group which appears to have the mange. A serious challenge to the stray dogs over who looks more pathetic. So there are no classes, and I am spending the week wandering around to the beaches.
The last weekend in April I went on my first trip in Chile, a 26 hour bus ride to Concepcion (south of Santiago) to hang out with other Fulbrighters and celebrate some birthdays. No one could believe that I was willingly taking a 52 hour round trip bus ride for what would amount to almost less time in Concepcion, but it came down to saving money. The buses in Chile are actually quite nice, too, and they have beds and serve food and there are even stewards like in airplanes. Fancy. Except that once I got comfortable, things got out of control. On the return trip, after narrowly making the bus from Concepcion, I thought I had it made. I was riding on TurBus, a national bus company that goes pretty much everywhere in Chile. Kind of like Grey Hound. Except that this bus kept pulling over and stopping to let guys on to try to pawn melty ice cream and peanuts, juice, etc. and to pick up other passengers. These passengers dont pay though, they were technically non-existent. It is a total under the radar black market of picking up passengers who just give the driver a few bucks. Which is fine with me until the stopping takes precedence over the going and suddenly we are running 1.5 hours late. I knew I was going to miss my connection and I started again to get anxious and mumble in english because it was 10 o'clock at night and getting later, and I didnt want to be stranded in a city I didnt know at a bus station in a weird part
Same party, different tentSame party, different tentSame party, different tent

as youll see, this dance move works in both directions
of town that was not opened all night. The nice, helpful guy next to me kept telling me to relax (i think the only english word he knew) and that we'd be there in 5 minutes. He said that 11 times though, so by the time we got there, we were almost 2 hours late, and of course I had missed my connection leaving Santiago to Antofagasta. Luckily, after I got my baggage and screamed at about 3 agents who had no clue what my problem was, nice guy helped me explain the situation, and I got to pay twice as much and leave 2 hours later, but at least I made the last bus out and didnt have to spend the night alone in a scary closed bus station. I think this most recent bus incident is somewhat allegorical to my life here in general; mainly, a constant flux between feeling that I can finally relax and feel comfotable/in control, quickly followed by the sharp realization that everything is different and I have v. limited control over what goes on. Keeps me on my toes I guess. I have a feeling this blog will proceed in bursts and fits, so look for another to follow quickly and then dont be surprised if it dies off for a while . . .

Btw, photos are of Concepcion, reportedly either the 4th or 2nd largest city in Chile, and appear here thanks to Adrienne, as I forgot to charge my camera battery before I left.


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Carabinero, aka yikesCarabinero, aka yikes
Carabinero, aka yikes

This crazy ass with the sweater cape swore he was a carabinero, or Chilean police, and tried to pick up every single girl with that line. He even busted out a badge. Check out the recent victims delighted look . . .
Chaos in ConceChaos in Conce
Chaos in Conce

things look a little chaotic when kathy grabs the camera
creep-tastic door in our hostel roomcreep-tastic door in our hostel room
creep-tastic door in our hostel room

some doors lead to bathrooms, some to hallways, some to creepy styrofoam packed dead ends
At NO Time!!!At NO Time!!!
At NO Time!!!

may you hitch a chariot to your midget horse and go trapesing through this blind intersection... may have been slap happy but we laughed at this sign for about 45 minutes
Group photo!!Group photo!!
Group photo!!

Weldon, Crystal, Emily, Meagan, and Noah in Conception
Me with the melty, melty huge Ice CreamMe with the melty, melty huge Ice Cream
Me with the melty, melty huge Ice Cream

and no, it has not escaped my attention how much my face resembles a pig in this photo
Down on the cornerDown on the corner
Down on the corner

Street scene in Conception
Vegetarianism looks scary Vegetarianism looks scary
Vegetarianism looks scary

This was one bloody information booth on the wonders of the vegetarian lifestyle . . . i think all of the brochures were weird leftovers, cause they were in English and about lactose intolerance in African Americans. My favorite was titled: "Why is Common eating a veggie burger??" with additional info on Russel Simmons.
a lo seco!! thanks adriennea lo seco!! thanks adrienne
a lo seco!! thanks adrienne

this photo looks like it could have been taken at any bar in the us, courtesy of the Budweiser neon
Birthday dinnerBirthday dinner
Birthday dinner

april, adrienne, emily and elizabeth
All in the truckAll in the truck
All in the truck

this truck was apparently the photo op of the night
Mural 1Mural 1
Mural 1

Mural in Conception, given to Chile from Mexico, depicting the Americas. Neruda quote around the top.


14th April 2006

Thanks Emily. I love hearing about what you're doing but its even better to see you in the pictures. Be good, have fun.
17th April 2006

becuase my dear sister it is easter and i dont know where you are HAPPY EASTER

Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0194s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb