Antofagasta, My Hometown


Advertisement
Published: March 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Antofagasta HarborAntofagasta HarborAntofagasta Harbor

The harbor near downtown Antofagasta on the weekend, with a market nearbly behind me.
Now that Ive alerted you all to the dangers lurking around the corner in Antofagasta, I thought I would try another approach and include some photos of sights around the city im living in for a while. Ive tried to give an unbiased view, but the truth is that I'm afraid some shots would scare off any would-be visitors. So below you´ll find mostly my "show-off" pictures, carefully designed to bring out the best that Antofagasta has to offer. Mysterious, I know . . . maybe you´ll just have to stop by and see for yourself. Mwhahaha. (Also Kate requested a "shout out" in the next blog, so Kate, here is your shout out. I walked by a fountain today and it reminded of you. You owe me big time.)


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Downtown AntofagastaDowntown Antofagasta
Downtown Antofagasta

View facing the square, la Plaza Colon
Beach SceneBeach Scene
Beach Scene

This beach in Antofagasta is 2 blocks from my house. It´s man made, constructed like a year ago.
Restaurants near beachRestaurants near beach
Restaurants near beach

Behind the beach are some restaurants, esp. ice cream stores, which are ubiquitous in Antofagasta
Beach RaftBeach Raft
Beach Raft

Theres a raft anchored out in the middle of the inlet that you can swim to and jump off of
One more beach scene . . .One more beach scene . . .
One more beach scene . . .

. . . its probably my favorite part of Antofagasta
Soccer StadiumSoccer Stadium
Soccer Stadium

This stadium is across the street from my house. On this Sunday Antofagasta Pumas were playing a Santiago team = big game
Post OfficePost Office
Post Office

The main post office of Antofagasta is the big building to the left.
Replic of Big BenReplic of Big Ben
Replic of Big Ben

This is supposedly a replica of Big Ben in London, but its pretty dinky. Located in the Plaza Colon.
FountainFountain
Fountain

One of the fountains in the Plaza Colon. Im including a lot of pics of this plaza cause its probably the nicest place in Antofagasta, and Im not trying to scare people away
Street in AntofagastaStreet in Antofagasta
Street in Antofagasta

Typical street near where I live in Antofagasta. Notice the lack of grass and abundance of dirt . . . pretty much the only greenery is in the plazas.
Avenida AngamosAvenida Angamos
Avenida Angamos

Street leading up to my house with one of the infamous Micros (buses) driving down the street
View from JumboView from Jumbo
View from Jumbo

This is a view riding the escalator at the grocery store Jumbo down the street from where I live. The hills in the background give you a better idea of the real Antofagasta/El Norte Grande region . . .
Balcony at UNCBalcony at UNC
Balcony at UNC

I took this before I started class in one of the fancy A/V classrooms at UCN - view of the beach, obv.
Balcony at UNC-other directionBalcony at UNC-other direction
Balcony at UNC-other direction

Same place, but looking at the view up Angamos towards my house.


23rd March 2006

your wake up message AS REQUESTED
GOOOOoooood MORNING good morning GOOD MORNING TO YOU YOu MAKE MY WORLD HAPPY and bring me good cheer.....GOOOOoooood MORNING good morning GOOD MORNING TO YOU YOu MAKE MY WORLD HAPPY and bring me good cheer.

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb