Greetings from Antafogasta


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Antofagasta Region » Antofagasta
December 12th 2008
Published: December 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello All,
I am on the road right now but have a bit of time and found an internet cafe, so I will give you a quick udpate. We left Concepcion and have been heading north for about a week now. We went direct to santiago by night bus and the following morning hitched a ride to valparaiso. We had a full day in valparaiso and i have to say i liked it, except it was pretty dirty. Cool architecture and city planning though. The next day we took off too La serena. We arrived super late and didnt have time to see much except the japanese garden and plaza de armas. The next stop was supposed to be Copiapo but we got there and the hostals were expensive so we kept moving to Antafogasta. Here we have been taken in by a arts school, who is currently doing a big celebration of drums. There seem to be about 100 drumers from all over chile and argentina. What more is they let us stay with them for free, and this weekend is the festival where there is camping,music, theater and food, all for less then $4 The next stop will be Calama and San Pedro again to see everything there. Later we will continue north to iquique and arica followed by Peru and eventually cuzco. I hope you are all having a good time in the cold, here it is heating up!! It is weird thinking that it is almost christmas. hearing christmas music here in the summer throws me off a bit. Also, bad news. My camera has been on the fritz. I hope I can fix it to capture some of these moments here. Anyways, goodnews is that I miss you all very much and will see you very soon!

Love
Jake

Advertisement



16th February 2009

Hi
Hi Jacob, I saw your blog and was very interested in finding more about Chile. I'm Bulgarian but I really love Spain and all the Latin-American countries since I've been studying Spanish for 5 years now. I would really want to visit Chile and Mexico and Peru,as well. I've already been in Spain and I loved it there. Hope to get a chance to go to Latin America :) Great pictures as well!

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0558s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb