Intro to Patagonia


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Aisén » Cerro Castillo
January 5th 2012
Published: January 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hi😊 I didn't have the internet to post all of this while I was there so I'm going to do a few posts to get you all caught up on my adventures down South. The place that we were staying was just outside of a teeny little town called Villa Cerro Castillo on the edge of a natural reserve called, amazingly, Cerro Castillo. The name comes from teh mountain that dominates the landscape to the West, a huge peak that rises out of a glacier with enough towers and turrets to make any castle architect shrivel with envy. My favorite time of day was about six in the morning (yes, I was awake then, voluntarily) because that was when the sunrise would light the peak with alpenglow, turning it into a brilliant rosy beacon in the morning. It was a lovely quiet time to do my stretches and get ready for trekking that we did. I should also explain that our filedschool was split into two parts: a survey part and an excavation part. Our team of 16 students was split into two groups and we alternated time on each part. I started with survey and, because I was loving it so much, volunteered to spend a bit of extra time, getting in only three days of excavation at the site. I'm pretty happy with that decision, as I saw some of the most beautiful views I've ever gazed upon and I got a decent feel for what the area is like, in the summer anyway. It's stunning. Neither words nor pictures can do justice to the breathtaking beauty of Rio Ibanez valley that we were in. Mountains rose straight up to snow capped peaks out of valleys dotted with little campos and adorned with perfect meadows, stunning lakes full of fish, and streams so clean that we could and did drink from them. And I still feel that way, even after slogging through thorny brambles covered in stinging caterpillars and being swarmed by particularily vicious horseflies. Yes, it wasn't perfect, thank goodness, because I can hardly believe it was real as it is.

Excerpt from Journal and Field Journal

January 3rd.

"...the scenery needs to be seen to be believed. We are camped beside a bank that shelters us from the wind (which appears to be constant) and right next to a river that is probably prime white water kayaking, I'd imagine. Although any mistakes would get your head smashed in on one of the huge boulders covered by the swift current...It's brutally hot here, which I didn't really pack for but the wind will help. 50 SPF was a good choice, as the ozone layer is thin here."

January 4th

"Lots of cattle ranching-beef, not milk. Not sure how they truck them out of here...large drives? They ranch in the reserve too because it is "traditional." Interesting. I'm starving. Survey hikes are long and I'm eating tons to keep up with what I burn! The crew is fun, although we missplaced Christian today. Glad he's Chilean. It could have been a mess if it had been one of us. Within sight and hearing from now on on survey! It got hot out there! I'm carrying tons of water, thank god. I'l certainly be in shape after this, and tan to boot! THere is so much to do here, I could get lost in it and never come back! Glorious.

Surveyed towards Rio Sin Nombre. Hot clear skies. 34 degrees C. Lots of red globe shaped "flowers" that are actually completely obnoxious burrs. Clover everywhere. Wild rose. Red stemmed bush with thorns and dark green leaves? (Calafate. The berries are edible) Stopped at site on the way home. Many handprints. Shelter (Alero). Hands of all sizes, including one very small child's handprint."

January 5th

"Ooo today was a bit rougher. My sunscreen isn't quite cutting it and I packed for fall/winter not boiling hot summer so no light collared shirts with long sleeves like I wish I had! Or a head scarf. Maybe a burka. But then I'd melt...Hmmm.

Started at ranch we stopped at yesterday along Rio Sin Nombre. Overcast with chance of rain (Never came through). Surveyed with Camila, Bryan, and Justin. Intermittent bog and drowned forest with few meadows and cows. Lots of thron bushes. Navigation around swamp difficult. Spreading out to do proper survey nearly impossible because we are either too close because there is only one path to follow or too far because the swamp adn throns drive us in to follow cow tracks that lead far apart. Going is very slow. Ended survey along the delta where Rio Sin Nombre flows into Lago Verde. The lake is a creamy gre color from the glacial silt."


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb