Las Salamandras


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Aisén » Coyhaique
January 3rd 2012
Published: January 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hello dear readers, here I am again, struggling to learn how to use the spanish keyboard. Anyway, I made it safely to Coyhaique with about half of the group. We all met in Santiago, as three of them had missed their connections and one was supposed to be on my flight anway. Another joined us at the airport and (happy day) all my luggage came through. Others were not so lucky. Patagonia is breath taking. It is different and familiar and exciting, comforting, dramatic, domestic, and any number of other positive superlatives. I cannot fairly describe what the country side is like here. We drove from a flat plain up through ridges dotted with funny round evergreens that were bent by the wind (sound familiar?) into mountain passes that were stunning, granite walls rising straight up, with beautiful cracks begging for climbing gear. The city town of Coyhaique welcomed us with round about full of roses and a statue of a hand offering up a cup of mate, which is just so much fun. Our hostel for the night is charming, the group is full of laughs, we walked into town for dinner, which was cheap and delicious. I had a huge salad topped with salmon crusted with peanuts and lime. Odd sounding, but it was delicious. It is almost midnight (I was wrong, there is a four hour time change towards the East) and I am headed to bed. Wish you were all here, because I'm not sure I ever want to leave!! I'm not sure if I'll have access to the internet by tomorrow, so best wishes if not; I'll update this later if I need to.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



3rd January 2012

arrived!
Up wandering around at 3:45 or so and ahoy! a blog to read! Yeah for you and it sounds great! Dinner as described could be pad thai a la Coyhaique. Love you G

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0703s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb