what a sunshine


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Aisén » Carretera Austral
January 18th 2010
Published: January 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It started out cloudy but then the sun traveled with me. I saw a lot of cyclists. Two French couples, a Chilean Alvaro and Martin from Germany. Two French on a tandem and two on the low bikes. The low bikes were going around the globe and had crossed the ocean from Tokyo to Santiago. In an airplane off course. Today Parc Quelat was on schedule with a nasty climb which was only 7 km from my side. The paved road continued from Amengual still 30 km so the day was easier than expected. The climb in the dense Parc was very nice. I took some time to wander a Sendero but the walk to the glacier was far and very wet. The road was verry narrow beacause of all the plants and trees. On the pozuelo a wonderfull cascade was coming down. It looked like a mass of snow flowing down the mountain. The descent of the pass had beautyfull views on the rainforrest. What a Parc. Because of all the rain water was coming down. everywhere. The road to Puyuhuapi was very good for Carretera Austral standards. In the end I cycled 5.52 over the 90 km. On the raf to the village I alraedy could see the Ventisquero Colgante or the hanging glacier. But that was for the next day. I went to a campsite La Sirena. With such a lovely weather. Sites were covered. Hot showers and the ovens were heated for making food. Francisco and Priscilla offered me to join them at dinner. An offer I could not refuse.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0234s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb