SA Cruise: Day 5


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil
December 22nd 2012
Published: December 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Saturday is our first full day at sea. Everyone is stumbling around as if slightly tipsy as they adjust to the gentle roll of the ship The weather is beautiful all day.

In the morning, Violet attends an aquafit session in the ship pool, which is interesting as the pool water sloshes back and forth with the motion of the ship. I attend a session with the ship's naturalist on the birds and mammals of the Antarctic region. We spend the majority of the day reading and relaxing, and I am able to start catching up on this blog. I have purchased an Internet package, but the connection at sea is slow and occasionally flakey. It's interesting how used I am now to being always connected. I still keep reaching for my non-existent phone to check a fact. Later in the afternoon, the four of us get in several rounds of bridge. Claudette and Jim are excellent players, and Vi and I are learning lots from them.

The dinner tonight is a format affair. We dress up in our monkey suits and have our photo portraits taken. After dinner, there is a captain's reception in the theatre: champagne and introductions to the head staff. The late entertainment is a show dedicated to Broadway show tunes and Bob Mackie costumes. The musicians, singers and dancers are absolutely top notch--and believe me I am not easily impressed.

Advertisement



23rd December 2012

travel log is a great idea
I look forward to following you & Violet on your journey around South America... What an amazing trip I'm sure it will be!

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.028s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb