Peruibe


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » São Paulo
October 23rd 2008
Published: October 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Whahey, the weather picked up, then it rained again all day then it picked up and has stayed nice. Like i said it´s quiet here - the weather is the liveliest thing 😊 However there´s a lot to be said for reading under palm trees to keep from getting to frazzled. Went for a little adventure today. Every place I´ve visited so far have been little towns nestled in flat spots surrounded by mountains and I´ve fancied getting in to them since I´ve got here so today was the day - properly attired in flip flops and shorts I went to the shops for supplies, namley water for my backpack pladder thingy - I´ve used this already doing the cycle and they are damn handy - however at 11am this morning it must have been to early in the day for the holiday noggin as I managed to buy 3L of fizzy water 😊 so it was like a squirting soda fountain every time i used it. Anyway off I treked and blimmin heck the gradient of the road was steep - my calves knew all about it before I got anywhere. I hadn´t a clue if there was any trails into the forest apart from the firebreak and that was too overgrow but eventually I saw something that looked like a trail so I headed in and up the mountain. Thankfully my DEET worked a treat - there were some big insects in there. The bird calls were eery but cool though the first time I walked into a spider web I hastily looked around to see what size it´s maker might be. Anyway the trail fizzled out and any attempts to find a track futher in were futile and definitely going to get me lost so I backtracked before I became a statistic. On the way back I came across a pretty well camouflaged frog and almost walked on my first snake - no amount of probing could get the bugger out of the nest of leaves he scooted into so no photo's ;(
The following day I caought the bus to Curitiba to meet my friend Maria so I am staying with her mother and hanging out with all the family. More later



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb