From Ihla Bella to Peruibe


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » São Paulo » Santos
October 20th 2008
Published: October 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


The last few days in Ihla bella were very quiet - apart from stilted conversations with the bar staff there was no-one else to chat to so spent the time reading or inhabiting the space between my ears (I was scared - it was very dark in there 😊) An attempt to go to the other end of the island resulted in a return trip on the bus when the heavens opened - a 40km trip for 4 Reals - 1 euro = 2.7 - the whole bus system is fantastic - so long as you know where to get off when you are not stopping at the end. Went for a snorkel after checking out another dive shop and deciding it was too expensive when the weather was so shite. On Saturday I decided to start heading south - on the way out of the hostel I got a lift from brazilian guy and his family across the ferry to the bus station so there wasn´t a chance to try out the waterproof cover for the rucksack - but there was plenty time for that. Despite having checked the web for my hostel - i forgot to take details down of its exact address so I pleased to find texting worked fine and stephen had his saturday nights film wathcing rudely interrupted on several occasions. When I managed to get the info of where to get off I found the hostel no problem - apart from it being shut - after a bout of cursing when the phone responded to my efforts with blahblahese I found I had to change networks in order to ring the no´s to get a recptionist to turn up as per a sign but one no didn´t work and the other gave a no which was wrong (i found this out when a helpful net cafe owner tried to help me out later) All this was taking place in a tropical storm giving the waterproof cover plenty opportunity to leak. As i was at the wrong end of the beach I had an hours trek to find an open hotel (reminder to self that a night bus journey with a morning arrival is better than arriving someplace around 10pm!) . Drama over anyhow and lessons regarding winging it may have been learnt 😊 Peruibe is a bit of a ghost town - it´s been raining all day and middays foray out during a break in the rain resulted in a drenching on the return trip. The place looks scruffy after the storm and all a bit bleak with shutdown merries etc. With any luck the weather will change tomorrow as there´s a surf school and I fancy giving it a shot. Otherwise it´s inland to Curitiba shortly. Muggers 0 Alan 0 (not sure how to improve my score 😉

Advertisement



21st October 2008

Live & Learn
Hi, I won't say I told you so, but sometimes its good to plan - at least your water proof cover got a testing. Hope the sun is shining on you now. Me thinks you'll have to venture back onto the beaten track or your liver and inner thoughts will be the worse for wear. Jan had a lonely pint last night (after he ran out of petrol on the way home - yeah he still won't believe the petrol guage when it says empty and is always sure he can make it home on fumes!) then dicovered he could text you and that you too were having a lonely pint at the other side of the world - cheers babe. Ellie xx

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 32; dbt: 0.031s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb