Curitiba


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Paraná » Curitiba
October 27th 2008
Published: October 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Civilisation - Whahey - no mosquitoes! Even better!! Arrived here last thursday to be met by Maria in the Mercado Municipal. While waiting for her to turn up I had a go at getting a haircut via the medium of sign language - it´s probably fortunate that I wear what little hair I have very short as trying to get anything else done may have been more than my hands could translate. It´s brilliant catching up with Maria who I met travelling in New Zealand - she has married Caio since. I am staying with Marias mum, Joanita and her brother Rickki, who live right beside the Jardim Boatanical. Since I´ve arrived it's been a whirlwind of the coolest bars and restaraunts and meeting all of Maria´s family. I´ve been out and about on my own in the malls and´shooping areas and toured the city on the city tour bus. I went to the Oscar Niemeyer Museum - he´s a fairly proloific architect but the exhibition by the Pandolofo brothers was exceptional (I especially liked the piece of the woman with the plug with square pins and the man with the round hole socket) - okay so I´m no art connoiseur - it was the bright colours and flashing lights that got me - moth that I am! The interactive display of instruments was pretty cool and when a song that I knew came on in the background I had to go and mess it up by playing along. The bus tour continued through parks with wandering Caipibarra, and lots of the pools are populated with tortoises (not native) that have been thrown in when they have got too big for the owners to look after.

I have done so much eating here it´s not funny - one of the coolest places to eat here is a fancy all you can eat place - i think it´s called Tartrine - they have a whole section devoted to beans ( I only had a taste of a bean soup as I was in company and Caio told me that they often add Chacaca to the cup of bean soup!! ) What a combination - maybe it´s something to try on a dive weekend as a physiological experiment. We´d probably need to go to bed with regulators in and masks on 😊 Yesterday I met the entire family - on Sundays they all get together and yesterday it was at Marias sister Karins for a bbq at their apartment complex. A very relaxing day. There are a few more days planned before heading of to Foz dÍgaucua -(definitley spelt wrong) before dupbling back to the coast and heading to Florianopolis for hopefully my first attempts at surfing. Ate mais Tarde.A


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



28th October 2008

Mammy's Boy
Travel to the other side of the world and you still find a mammy to look after you. How do you do it?

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0595s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb