Almost wasn't meant to be!


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » São Paulo
December 17th 2006
Published: December 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Finally, the day had come when I would get to visit South America, and Brazil! I had flight tickets, leaving from Gothenburg around 6 am om sunday morning! As things turn out, the travel god almost didn't let me leave the coldness of Sweden this time. I know beforehand I would have to work on saturday evening, quitting around 1 am, which was fine. I'd just stay up, go catch the flight and sleep over the atlantic. As usual, doing all the packing the very last minute, I got a call and had to fix some stuff for work during the day when I was supposed to be packing. Oh well, there's still lots of time between 1 am and 3 am when I need to leave for the airport. Having recently sold my car, I had borrowed a car from a co-worker and recruited another co-worker to drive me to the airport in the middle of the night and return the car the next morning.

All good so far, had a hectic afternoon and evening for work, I stressed a bit to be finished in good time to pack before I had to leave. When it's almost 1 am and I'm ready to go hime, I just go to pick up my jacked, I know exactly which chair I had it hanging on. Just one problem, it's not there!!! I look everywhere, nobody had seen it, and none of security or bar personnel have received any jacket matching my description. SHIT, I have the phone and my wallet on me, but all my keys are in that jacket. Keys for the car I borrowed, keys for my flat (where all my un-packed stuff is spread out), keys for work and several other, important keys.

As the clock keeps ticking, I finally give up getting the jacket back that day, it's now 1.30 am. Ok, most important, get in to my own flat (passport and flight tickets are there too!). I call the locksmith emergency line and get an answermachine promising that if I leave my name and number I will hear back within 15 minutes. Phew! Or so I think, 15 minutes later I still havn't heard anything. I get a friend to drive me back to my building, and start knocking the windows hoping someone has been up partying and is still awake, if I can just get to my neighbour on floor two, he is the manager and has a main key. I finally get his number and get him awake enough to open up.

Still I have no car to get to the airport, so my friend agrees to keep driving for a while longer, go the the first co-worker, that I borrowed the car from to get the spare key. Om the way there I call the security company asking then to keep a closer look on our gates, just in case it's not a drunk fool who got the wrong jacket, there's a slight chance someone knew it was my jacket and where the keys might fit...

So, I get the car keys, rushes home and just stuffs the most important clothes and camera, passport, tickets, visa card in the pack. It's hot in Brazil, I can always buy whatever I'm missing there! Phew!

It's now after 3 am! Drive the two hours to the airport, and have 15 minutes before check-in closes. I don't think I've ever felt so good being on a plane before!

Finally, on my way! Christmas and Newyears on the beach, here I come!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb