One Week In


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » São Paulo » São Paulo
January 26th 2007
Published: January 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I've been here a bit over a week and have seen only a small bit of Sao Paulo. To say the city is immense would be an understatement. Imagining one any more populated actually hurts. Sao Paulo contains somewhere near 17 million people from all different national backgrounds. It has the largest Japanese population outside of Japan and countless others whose families have immigrated from European countries and elsewhere. As I had read on so many travel websites before leaving, it is the definition of cosmopolitan.

About a week ago I went with Natasha's family to a charruscaria. This type of restaurant is a Brasilian barbecue: first you choose from an entire buffet of fresh pasta, fruit and vegetables. After you're seated, waiters frequent your table about once every 2 minutes, each offering a different kind of meat. Pork, beef, chicken (no strips though), sausage and other carnes I didn't recognize. Of course I had to sample a bit of everything and this included actual tiny barbecued chicken heart. That's right. It wasn't that bad, just extremely chewy. After I had paid my dues I settled into the rest of the delicious, never ending meal, for only 7 dollars American.

The following evening we all went to a party for Natasha's godmother's parents or something like that... I don't quite remember. Another charruscaria, this time in the tradition of Japanese culture (If i'm not mistaken). We enjoyed all we could eat and some Brasilian brand Skol - a light beer that's no different than American beer. There were percussion and dance performances, and I eventually met the two being honored. In attempt to participate in cultural custom, I remembered to kiss members of the opposite sex on the cheek during greetings, whether a stranger or familiar. Allow me to stress the OPPOSITE part. You can imagine my embarrassment when I went in to kiss this elderly man. Halfway into through I realized the grave mistake I was making, fearing the consequences. The ensuing hug went over well and I managed to save face.

At about midnight we arrived home. As the rest of the family was returning to bed, Natasha, Felipe and I donned our most chic nightlife attire and headed out. The place was called Porto Alcobaca... I think. Walking through the vine and rough rock adorned hallway, we finally broke into the massive pulsing crowd. It
Sara and ISara and ISara and I

Real live vines.
turns out they don't serve Guinness in Brasil. I reminded myself that I'm here to taste the local flavor. After enjoying the band (not understanding a single word), we headed towards the back of the club which opened up to a pier and a boat in a small lagoon. The rest of the night we moved between these areas and a third techno dance floor (I thought of you Dane) and finally got to sleep at 8:30.

A few mornings later I woke up to one Sara Ribeiro. That's right! She stayed with us until she left this morning. On Tuesday we went to Avenida Paulista, a long drag lined with parks, museums and more sophisticated shopping centers, about 45 minutes away by bus and subway. We checked out the photography of Marc Ferrez, whom I recommend if you ever want to see pictures of Developing Brasil in the 1800's. I had a formal Portuguese lesson with Sara after I bought a textbook for this quarter abroad. The following day we went to the Botanical Gardens - by far the most beautiful spot I have seen in Sao Paulo. For one real, the price of fifty cents, we enjoyed this expansive..... lush.... garden. It really was that. A glorified garden with all sorts of plants I've only seen in movies and magazines. We walked down rows of palm trees, alongside ponds and on lush catwalk trails through rainforest. It was just really gosh pretty, as you can see. Unfortunately the orchids weren't in bloom.

Yesterday Sara, Natasha, Felipe and I went to a Palmeiras futebol game. It was here that I learned amazing new Portuguese swear words (it's funny what phrases literally translate). I'm not really sure who they played, but it was serious business. That's all for now. Tomorrow I'll head outside of Sao Paulo to a town called Sorocaba to stay with one of Natasha's friends and her family, not sure what to expect...

Portuguese Phrase of the Day - Eu estou com fome! (I am hungry!)


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

TiredTired
Tired

In the absence of language abilities, one must use signals to communicate.
LOST?LOST?
LOST?

A wooden catwalk winding through the Botanical Gardens.
PalmeirasPalmeiras
Palmeiras

Entering the stadium.


4th February 2007

hey buddy!
Sounds interesting! It makes me hungry actually.... and the botanical gardens make me want to go back to Australia. Have you gone out on your own yet? That was the scariest thing for me - going out into the city alone, only having the slightest idea of where you're going. At least they speak english in Australia, so good luck with Portuguese! I'll check in on you from time to time! later... P.S. Tenha o divertimento!
5th February 2007

Fofo Guy
Have a great time but remember "fofo" doesn't pay the rent! Guess who? The Wood Man
8th February 2007

It's fun to stay at the Y-M....
Wood man....??? You frighten me.....
14th February 2007

LOST
The LOST caption is key haha. We're missin you here man, when you get back me you and Len got a date with some pints. And although I really don't think I phrased that too well, I'd say the idea translates. Get it?!?

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.035s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb