Eu estou aqui!


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » São Paulo » São Paulo
January 17th 2007
Published: January 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Tchau!Tchau!Tchau!

My sisters and me just moments before my departure to Portland.
Wow. There's not much else to say yet. I can't believe I'm here! It was a long day getting ready for my departure, how anxious I was stepping on to that plane in Portland. The five hour trip to Atlanta wasn't too bad. After a three hour layover during which I put an impressive dent in Dune, I was more than ready for the 8+ hours to Sao Paulo. It was on this flight that I met my first brasilian amigo, Rafael. He confirmed the suave, macho stereotype I held for so many Brasilian men, but was more than willing to help me learn a bit of Portuguese. He taught me the dirty words first and didn't hesitate to hit on every single flight attendant in between. After being an 8 hour source of amusement for him, we landed in Sao Paulo and said farewell, after he invited me to Minas Gerais for Carnaval. After that it was all pretty simple, the airport I mean. George Castanza's voice rang through my head as I made a stop at the Duty Free Shop to pick up some Black Label rum for Natasha's father and her brother. They greeted me with open arms
8 hour flight8 hour flight8 hour flight

"Look at me, I'm gorgeous" -Rafael
at Arrivals and immediately all anxiety left my body.

Thankfully it wasn't an awkward silence that we endured on the way to the car. I attempted to speak with Natasha's father, a very generous man named Edson who promised me the best food Brasil had to offer. We went to McDonald's (where else?) which he thought was hilarious as he explained that nothing else was open so late. It was getting even easier to settle in.

After getting five hours of sleep this morning, I woke up to the crow of a rooster and played with the Onishi's (my host family's name) five cats. Gatos. Somehow my allergy hasn't kicked in yet. Natasha and I left promptly at 10 o'clock and I got my first real taste of Sao Paulo. The bus rides through the city took a long time and were terribly expensive! We met up with her boyfriend Felipe, one hell of a guy who I immediately bonded with, and we hit the shops. We ran errands with Felipe at some gigantic building for obtaining government documents and grabbed some food soon after. I think I've seen more new people today than in the last two years. I cry when I imagine attempting today without Natasha.

Soon we met Patricia, Natasha's friend who kept repeating "fo-fo", which I later learned from Felipe means cute. The four of us were always laughing and they were very patient with my language skills, though I know they had their fun with me. For the first time I feel like every single generic foreign guy we've all seen attempting to maintain some sort of status in the face of knowing absolutely nothing about anything. Oh well, you've gotta start somewhere. For everyone who's complained about my ego, and you know who you are, I want you all to know what an EXTREMELY HUMBLING experience this is. For the time being I am completely dependant on Natasha. Luckily her friends have accepted me so far and it looks like they'll give me a hand. Finally, being summertime here, this may end up being the best winter yet...

Portuguese Palabra de o Dia - Boa Noite!

Portuguese Word of the Day - Good Night!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Natasha First NightNatasha First Night
Natasha First Night

Natasha, a brasileira generosa.


18th January 2007

=D
Alex, you don't know how much I'm enjoying you here...really... I hope this becomes an unforgetable experience (and I hope to help you with that, like you helped to make my stay in the US unforgetable...) and you know you can count on me if you need anything. I'm glad you're having a good time so far... but hey, you've only been here for a day... (it will only get better...or not =p huahuahua zueira =p) Então até mais "fofo", huahuahuauha tenha uma boa noite, e que o dia de amanhã não seja um tédio total =p
18th January 2007

brasil
heheheh oi alex passei pra dizer que seu blog esta dahora, e vai ficar ainda melhor, por que agente ainda tem muito oque aproveitar hehehehe Boa noite e até amanha bye =)
19th January 2007

Yeah Soo....
Alexander Kelly, I don't even know you anymore. First with the muscles and now with the travel blogs. America feels empty without you, not so much that it hurts, but it's palpable like a deck of cards minus a joker. You can still play with them but there's no joker card to disrupt the flow or the monotony. You are my joker, if you replace me in Brazil, my house of cards will fall. Danny
23rd January 2007

cant believe you are here!
wow...you are brasil!!!! i still cant believe it, that is so excited, of course i had to come here and say HI to this super fofo american guy! i have to say im impressed with your learning skills, you have such a good memory! you're making some good progress with the lenguage, im sure after these two months you will be talking portugues like a truly brasilian! im pround of you ALEX! and i agree with Paty, it is really fofo to hear you speaking =o) your trip is just beginning, there are lots of places to visit yet! i hope brasil doenst desappoint you! and im wanting you for carnaval ok? in laguna beach!!!!

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb