Some more time in Rio


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro
October 5th 2011
Published: October 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today I visited a Favela on a tour I booked through my hostel. When arriving for the tour I am told that the favela we are going to be visiting is the only one in Rio that is not govern by the police....but instead by 4 drug dealing gangs!! I was not aware of this when I emailed my booking request over! After our brief introduction from the tour leader I am then informed that to reach the top of the favela we would be driven on motorbikes! (I have never been on a motorbike before in my life) We were told to wrap our arms around the driver (mine was called Richard) and hold on tight! This journey lasted no more than 10minutes but it was the most hairaising experience ever, never have I felt so close to being in a motor vecihle accident, but somehow me and the other group members all survived. I would have liked a photo on the bike with my driver but we were strictly told no photos at this point as the driver could turn out be a drug dealer and would not want his photo all over facebook! Anyway, I glazed over this
Dont cut the tree....work with it!Dont cut the tree....work with it!Dont cut the tree....work with it!

Thought Dad and Rob would appreciate this one!
and continued to follow the guide (to which he then pointed out a man carrying a machine gun at the entrance to the Favela!) Needless to save I avoided eye contact with this gentleman and 3hrs later came out of the Favela alive! Im not sure how to describe the Favela.....it was intriguing, if i could upload all my pics then that would help, but im struggling to upload 1 to be honest!
And at this point I would also just like to apologise for any spelling/grammer errors that you will no doubt pick up...english was never my best subject!
Anyway...off to tuck into a takeaway pizza!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.031s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0135s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb