Rio de Janeiro, Brasil


Advertisement
Published: July 18th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Me and MommyMe and MommyMe and Mommy

Corcovado
We left Fortaleza in the middle of the night to go back to my grandma's house in Rio de Janeiro. When we go there, people were awake. We first went to my great grandmas house to hang out. She gave us some really good food that my mom used to always love. She had a nice apartment. I also saw 2 of my great aunts.

We then went out to the fanfest in Copacabana to watch Spain play Chile with my mom, my dad, my brother, my aunt Mariana, and a friend named Patrick and one of his friends. At the fanfest it was so crowded I could not watch the game so instead I played in the sand. Spain lost, not that suprising after they got killed by Netherlands, and went home.

Then we went to an amazing sushi place. It took a long time to get there so Patrick and his friend went home. The sushi was awesome...we had the cone, tuna rolls, cream cheese rolls and a whole bunch of other stuff. And we had desert. My mom got caramelized banana which was pretty good and I got 3 different chocolates which was very good too.
Spain v ChileSpain v ChileSpain v Chile

Copacabana Fanfest
Then we went back home.

Early in the morning my dad got a call from our friends Roy and Kevin. They said that they needed a place to stay since they got kicked out of their apartment. I was confused. That was pretty cool that they came. Then we went to the Corcovado which is the very big famous Christ. The train was pretty cool because we saw some cool plants and a trail that goes up the hill to get to Corcovado. When we go there it was pouring and the wind was blowing so we went straight to the cafe. We watched England vs Uruguay. Uruguay won. I was cheering for England. Then I went up to see the Christ with my mom, dad and Kevin. It was very foggy and windy and sadly you could not see the view. You could kind of see his head but everytime you looked up a rain drop would get in your eye. My dad took a picture of my mom, Kevin and I and Kevin's umbrella turned inside out which was funny. Then we went back to the cafe and then Roy went up with Kevin. Roy's jacket was soaking. It was fun. Then we had to go back to the tram and back down.

The next day we left for Manaus. I had to say goodbye to my mom and Vitor because when I would come back, they were not going to be there. They were going to be back to Miami. - Sofia





Daddy's Comments:

While I was definitely rooting for Chile, I was surprised that Spain lost again, but happy to see them go home. They have won enough over the past 6 years. Fanfest in Rio was definitely a lot more crowded than Fortaleza, which was not surprising. While it was not a good experience to get booted out of an apartment in Copacabana, it worked out well in the end for Roy and Kevin as we had a lot of fun. While the weather was absolutely horrible, the only bad day of weather on our trip, we did have a great time, and essentially had it for ourselves. It was a great place to watch the England v Uruguay game. We only stayed 2 nights, but we would return for 5 more after our trip to the
Nice WeatherNice WeatherNice Weather

Corcovado
Amazon.....


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Me, Mom, Vitor and MarianaMe, Mom, Vitor and Mariana
Me, Mom, Vitor and Mariana

Anita's house in Jacarepagua
Corcovado CafeCorcovado Cafe
Corcovado Cafe

Roy and Daddy pointing to the Christ the Redeeemer om the window
Kevin arrivesKevin arrives
Kevin arrives

After getting kicked out of apartment in Copacabana
Roy arrivesRoy arrives
Roy arrives

after getting kicked out of apartment in Copacabana


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0318s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb