Rio Growing on Me


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro » Rio de Janeiro » Botafogo
October 11th 2010
Published: October 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Me AgainMe AgainMe Again

Please to take a photo of me
Due to a table tennis tournament I have had to leave the Lagoa Guesthouse for five nights, but I have booked a return as you can really see why it gets the highest rating of any hostel in Rio, atmosphere, the key to any good hostel. Took a taxi over to Hostel Arco Verde. My driver although pleasant enough was a bit clueless, first he took me to the heart of the Copacabana and stopped at a ´police incident´ to ask directions. Then he drove into what was pretty much a favellla and I knew fine it was wrong and would not let him drop me there. Finally he stopped at a military police post and did some digging and at last he got me to Arco Verde, it~s pure Bates Motel in appearence, but at the same time, it does have an undeniable olde worde colonial charm.

So another top tip is, get a map printed of your location if youre using a taxi, but I negociated him down on the meter price as it came to double what it should of been due to all the wrong turns etc.

No English spoken here so I see it as an opportunity to get some Portugeese learnt. The best thing is Im just 5 minutes from one of Rio~s top shopping malls which means the convienence of food halls and stores where I can top up on handy stuff, and it~s a place where I can have a wander around and feel safe as it~s teeming with huge security guards.

On Sunday morning I walked down to the Cable Car Station for the Sugar Loaf Mountain, i was at the first of the two peaks by 9am, and I^m so glad as when I got back, the crowds were snaking round out onto the next street. So as the place opens at 8am, if possible, get there as early as possible. With full sun and little cloud it was a stunning view all around Rio, and to give them credit they have plenty of viewing platforms, benchs, walks so you can spend a good hour or even two up there. They have recently installed new cable cars which are very smooth and very fast. But grab that window spot first! Also make sure there is plenty of memory on your camera, I took about 100 pictures up there,
WowWowWow

Some Place the Rio!
not that Ill put them all up here.

Just next to the cable car station youll also find a superb little beach which is well used but not teeming with folk, and it~s all locals, always a good sign. There is also a superb little nature walk along the Atlantic Coast in the forest which is well worth a wander, lots of crashing waves pound the rocks, a great place to get some fresh air in your lungs. Nearby Urca (safest location in Rio) is also well worth a wander if you~re in the area, so don~t just smash and grab the Cable Car option if you come here.

So all in all very taken so far with Rio, still much more to do and see.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

CableCable
Cable

No time for a game of snap
My new favourite beachMy new favourite beach
My new favourite beach

No Tourists, bonus!


12th October 2010

It looks amazing!
Wow Rio looks amazing - got some great views from the cable car... guess it beats Calgary beach! Take care Love your sis x

Tot: 0.191s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb