More Rio Life


Advertisement
Published: October 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

BotafogoBotafogoBotafogo

Some atmosphere and I even bought a shirt
The final review of Rio, 2 weeks is a long time in one city but sometimes it´s hard to find the bus station.

I left Hostel Arco Verde and went back to a warm welcome at the Lagoa Guesthouse.

I made a tour of a Favella, not one of the crass jeep tours but a local guide who actually let you walk through some of the streets and get your flip flops dirty. I´m under no illusion that on a tour that your going to see anything other than the sanitized, posh bits of a favella, they all kept their little front porches very clean, but still some experience. The best bit was once at the top, we rode down on mototaxis, that´s motorbikes though it was total freewheeling through heavy human traffic.

Another Rio Gem that I hope remains a secret to most backpackers, is the Little Parque (tbc) that lies just along from the Jardin Botanica. Full of odd little bridges and buildings and even caves under the shadow of Christ the Redeemer it was one of the more pleasant little discoveruies that Rio had to offer.

Sunday night was my last night at Lagoa so I took in a football game, sadly not at the closed for Refurb Maracana but at the shiny new Olympic Stadium, it´s miles from anywhere, was only half full at best but for local derby ¨Flumenise v Botafogo it was a unique atmosphere. I got into the spirit and purchased a Botafogo shirt and enjoyed standing on the seats and shouting along though not knowing what I was shouting. On return hopes of an early night were dashed by a BBQ at the hostel but all good as I took abuse/plaudits from the locals depending on points of veiw regarding Botafogo.

On a wet Monday morning I took my leave of Lagoa and went to my Hotel for the start of my tour the next day. I´m sorry but for all the myth, I´m not sayin it´s a bad beach, but the Copacabana fails to grab me, I´d much rather find a smaller, loco type beach where you have a chance of not getting mugged etc.


Well Rio was some expereince, but I´m well ready to be leaving, I´m perhaps a little tired of being on constant alert and watching my back, you have to do that anywhere, but in Rio it´s just that bit more intense. Anyway next up is 17 days on my GAP adventure tour, "In Search of Iggasuo" Rio to Bueons Aires via various highlights on the way.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1152s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb