Ilha Grande ...Paradise


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro » Ilha Grande
October 18th 2007
Published: October 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Approaching Ilha GrandeApproaching Ilha GrandeApproaching Ilha Grande

Docking at Abraa, the only sizeable village on the island.
Thurs 18th Oct:
This island is so tranquil and quiet after the noise and crowds of the cities..... no vehicles apart from a few bicycles, narrow cobbled-stoned streets with quaint shops in its only village and a multitude of fantastic beaches. I took a boat tour yesterday and hired out some snorkling gear. It was a whole day trip with about 35 others.
We visited a few different beaches for swimming and also a bay area called the Blue Lagoon which was great for snorkling - saw a colourful range of fish (most I didn´t recognise). The water was very clear. Some of the group dived down and picked up some of the starfish. It took me a while to get my confidence with snorkling as it was so long since I did it; it didn´t help when I got a few lungfulls of sea water. However after about 20 minutes I was doing well enough to try a few dives. On the boat there was a great atmosphere and we were supplied throughout with free fruit. We stopped in one bay with a restaurant where we had lunch. I had a local fish dish (v. nice).
After the journey back
AbraaoAbraaoAbraao

The village is mainly composed of pousadas and small quaint shops and restaurants. No vehicles so it also lovely and tranquil.
I had coffee with a few from Rio who spoke English. Later I browsed around the village and had a few drinks with Steen & Kirsten (the Dutch couple I met on the boat coming across).

Today I will take it easy and have a lazy day before I get the ferry boat back to Rio this evening.




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Signposts to ParadiseSignposts to Paradise
Signposts to Paradise

Surrounded by tropical forest this little village is a quiet haven.
The Tour BoatThe Tour Boat
The Tour Boat

This boat brought us around the island. When we reached the Blue Lagoon it anchored and we jumped off to do some snorkling.


Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 45; dbt: 0.056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb