Beautiful: now that is what I am talking about


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro » Ilha Grande
April 12th 2007
Published: April 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Went to the island and it was great. Juan lent me his second camera which was actually a pentax so easy to use.

Day One
A great boat ride and swimming off the boat around the island. BBQ on the boat and caprihenkia´s (a drink with limes, a vodka type alcohol).
Juan made us get flippers before we got on the boat in the morning cos they didn~t have them on board. Then we travelled to the swimming spot and discovered that there were only four masks and one snorkel to share between 25 people.
We had these floating long pole things though. It didn~t really matter cos there wasn~t really anything to see. I ended up having a little snorkle around and it was fine for 10m minutes cos there were only a few fish.

WE stopped off at an Island and the boys played soccer sorry that is football or I get in trouble. haved decided to go on a no soccer diet when I get back until Australia play Aregentina in June or July at the MCG.

I sat just in the water as the small waves were washing over me and literally was in a school of tiny fish. They were bumping into me and I could put my hand out and touch them. No one else did this as they were either footballling or sun bathing. I manged to get one of the masks and have a look. It was way cool.

We pretty much pulled the boat up to teh island and jumped off an waded to shore. Edith and Kerstein got their cameras and put them above there heads and dog paddled to shore. No wet cameras. That~s just me!

Day Two
Went on a 2 hour trek to a beach that didn~t have a toilet. Don~t ask.
Juan said at the beginning that it wasn~t a race. Then it proceeded to be a race!
There were three groups. The boys, the girls and tracey, JP and lindsay.
I didn~t like the fact that we called for breaks so that tracey could catch up but then as soon as she got there we were off again. So she decided to take her breaks before she got to us which was smart.
The trek involved going up a big hill then down a big hill walking past a beach then ditto and ditto.
I would have liked to stop and smell the roses but we were at break neck speed. Ritchie took the trek in thongs and at one stage was running. He didn~t fall. That~s just me!

There was some really intersting bamboo but I coulçdn~t stop and take a photo.
Finally I decided to do what I wanted as per Traceys cue.

At the beach we could buy sandwiches for $5 real from people just sitting by the trees(one place was $6 real which I boycotted). They were wrapped up and cool and everything. chicken was quite nice and they also had chippies.
After having a relax and reading for a while (murrey whealan does get into scraps doesn~t he) I went to jump some waves which was fun. The aim of the game is to get my hair wet but not go under as that would mean a) contacts could be dilodged and/or b) inhale water. Managed to succeed on both counts.
Originally I was in the shade with tracey but decided to venture into the sun (with my srong over my whole body though and had a rest. Very nice.

I was a bit worried with my little toe that I wouldn~t be able to make the trek very well but with my hiking boots all was good. Someone said at the begining of the day won~t you be hot in them. But we were walking on a path mostly protected from trees and I needed the grip.

All in all a good day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb