Rio: Hi Jesus


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro
April 14th 2007
Published: April 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Arrived in Rio and we rushed to see Christ. He was bloddy big. I still had Juan~s camera so was able to get a picture with Jesus.

We then went up the Suguar Loaf at dusk and looked out at the lights of Rio. Very nice.

For dinner we had discussed two options. 1) going to a $114 real seafood buffet or 2) going somewhere cheaper. Well Ritchie and Sean said tell us where it is and we can always go there later if not everyone wants to go. Although they were annoying and so aussie bogan sterotypes I kind of still liked them a bit cos they reminded me of home and they were malicious or anything. Where as the english guys I really didn~t like. They were so rude because out of the 15 , 9 wanted to go. Juan said there was pasta for Lindsay who is a veggie (but there wasn~t) and Edith Kerstein and I are on a budget. drinks weren~t even included. The thing about buffets is that guys always do better becasue they eat more genreally. The good thing is that you don~t have to wait for 2 hours though. So I voted against it but they said majority wins so we have to go.
Nick and Syd kept saying all the time that Edith wasn~t a team palyer cos she often wanted to have a cheap meal instead of wasting buckets on food and alchol. Syd went out every night and drunk a bottle of red wine. he kept saying how cheap everything was. Argentina was good but Brazil has actually been really expensive.
They think nothing of spending a couple of hundred real in a night! Everytime I tried to start up a converstation with them they kind of were really curt with me. glad I won~t be seeing them again.

Were as Anna and Seb and JP and tracey were really lovely.
Edith and Kerstein were really nice too (although Kerstein always had this habit of wondering off).

I am hoping the people on my second tour will be less footnball drunks. I think if we are trekking it will be a bit difficult to be that way.

After the dinner we went to the Cobanana Palace the most expensive place in Rio. In the piano bar I had a soft drink. I wasn~t going to waste any more money given I had already spent $120 real on dinner. It was really beautiful. Didn~t get any pictures as I had already give Juan his camera back. I wasn~t sure how much to tip Juan - there were some probelms but given he lent me his camrea I ended up giving $100 real cos the webstie said to give between $50 - 75.


The next day I tried to go shopping but was mis informed that the shops opened at 10am. they really opened at 12pm and closed at 10pm. they really have weird hours.

So I changed hotels and chilled in time for the soccer match that afternoon. at least there were goals even if it was a draw 2-2.
It was really good but enough soccer I say after this!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb