The capital of reggae


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Maranhão » São Luis
February 17th 2006
Published: February 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Arrived in Sao Luis Monday (I think at least). Sao Luis really reminds me of France and Montpellier - no wonder since it was founded by the Frenchies. I have had time to explore the hostorical center and I have met a very nice girl, Patricia from Brazil, that I went to les Lencois Maranheses with. That is a national park with huge sanddunes. When it rains the water gets filtered and makes blue lagoons everywhere. This is of course not the good period to come, but we got to take a swim in one of the lagoons and do some sand-surfing on the dunes. Very nice. I also got my first sun-burn - less nice.
Since Sao Luis is the capital of reggae in Brazil, we decided (we being Patricia, me and two French guys - I just keep on meeting so many French people) to check out the nightlife Wednesday night - supposed to be the best night out. Unfortunately the best night had moved to Friday, but we still had a very nice time in one of the local clubs.
As everywhere else, the time in Sao Luis was too short and I now have to leave for Recife.
Thank you so much for all of your comments!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1016.2kb