Pre-carnaval


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Pernambuco
February 21st 2006
Published: February 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Now I am in the state of Pernambuco. Recife and Olinda are two beautiful cities (Olinda more than Recife) on the coastline where I spent four days. I stayed in Recife, Boa Viagem, next to the beach and in the mornings I was able to go running along the beach promenade. Sweet.
I met some really nice people in the hostel that I could explore pre-carnaval with.
Olinda is a colonial, very bohemian town built on a hill, next to tthe beach, with tons of winding small streets and lots of beutiful houses and churches. For those of you who know how much I loved the historic center of Montpellier - this was a little bit the same and very beautiful.
I also got a chance to go to some pre-carnaval celebrating - crazy and fun. Every day there was bands playing in Olinda and every night it all moved to Recife where there were concerts on the streets and bands playing. All kinds of music, all kinds of dances and all kinds of costumes. This made me more than anything get more excited about the big carnaval in Salvador.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0658s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb