Brasilia


Advertisement
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We arrived into Brasilia late in the night. Our plane had been delayed a bit, but this was the norm considering that there have been issues with control tower strikes creating delays... Either way, nothing is ever cancelled, and all international flights are running on time. (Don't worry mom!)

It was not until the next morning that I met Mark's aunt and uncle, our hosts. They were the sweetest, older couple and more accomodating than you can imagine. Truly the type of people that you want to spend time around. She didn't speak English at all, but as time went on, his uncle ventured into a little bit that he remembered. Their home was nice, being that it is a city, it was in an apartment style building. The whole experience of being there really opened my eyes to Brazilian home life - especially of the middle class. There are 2 entrances into their apartment, as well as 2 elevators to the floor their apartment is on. In Brazil, it is fairly normal to have a maid if you are middle class, so the 2nd doors/elevators were originally intended for service, but it's not something a big deal is made out of. We used to service elevator as much as the 'nicer'one. Joanna has been with their family for many years, and has watched Mark grow up. Just like any job, she recieves a paycheck, with money also allotted for retirement. I found the whole thing very interesting, but it's a normal fact of life here.

Upon meeting the family, breakfast began. Breads and Mango were the offerings, served with Milk. It was a simple breakfast, but I understood why... lunch comes very soon afterwards.

I was still sick from Rio, and my cough still sounded like something horrible. In addition to the honey added to my bread to sooth the coughing, his uncle took the opportunity to enjoy an apertif with me before lunch. So here I found myself... not even noon, enjoying a small shot of Cachça and honey with Mark and his Uncle. When in Rome?

For lunch, they had prepared a feijoado. It's a very traditional Brazilian dish of meat, rice, black beans, and couve (Something I can only liken as looking like the green, plastic grass you place in Easter baskets, and tasting a bit like cOllard greens.) It was really good. Brazilians use a bit of spices, so to my tastebuds, it was a bit salty, but this is contrasted by the sweetness of orange chuncks given as a side dish. It really was a pleasant meal. Henrique, their son - and Mark's older cousin, joined us for the meal.

In keeping with my praises for how amazing of hosts they were, Henrique went out of his way to show us around the city. We first had to swing by a local mall to run an errand, and it is also where I got to meet Henrique's brother, Eduardo. He is part owner of a very successful night club, so we got an afterhour's tour. It's very nice looking - I just wish our flight hadn't been delayed the night before, otherwise I would have gotten to experience it at it's best instead of not getting to go.

After parting ways with Eduardo, we were off to tour the city. We started off at a view point of the lake that boarders one whole side of the city. It offered a view of the JK Bridge built around 5 years ago. We'd later walk a bit on the bridge for a better look. It was actually inspired by the curves a stone makes as it bounces across the water.

Before we stopped at any other place, Henrique drove us around the city to get a feel for it. We passed small brush fires, but these are seen as no big deal. Brasilia is so hot/dry, especially in the Summer, that the ground is brown and red (from the red dirt). It is not until later in the year that the rain coaxes the green back into sight. We saw the JK Memorial, honoring the president that invisioned Brasilia as the new capital, moving it from Rio. We then went up into the TV tower, offering a free view above the city - with the capitol building straight ahead.

The legistlative building certainly is interesting. It consists of 2 tall towers, a bit off center from the base area. About 1/2 way up there is a walking bridge connecting them. To the left is a large bowl, upside down. To the right, a bowl facing up. It is said that on the birthday of the city, in April, that from the nearby flagpole looming over the city, you can see the sunrise through the buildings. Very neat.

Near the legislative building is a plaza, also bordered by the Judicial and Executive buildings. Inside the plaza is a scale model of the city. It was envisioned by a single man, who was absolutely brilliant. The shape of Brasilia is of an airplane, and it is designed as such that there is very little need for red lights. The insight and traffic flow planning is amazing. The city, having been built 30-40 years ago, still easily accommodates the population.

One can not visit Brasilia without visiting the famous domed church. There is just nothing like it, the ground slopes down to allow entry into the colored glass sphere. This very modern facility houses the only authorized copy, down to the microscopic copy, of the pieta. (Statue of Mary and Jesus.) The original is in Italy - which I have also seen.

After touring the city, we headed back to the lake, where I got to enjoy a dessert, an ice cream, made from a berry found in the amazon. It's considered a super food - and I like it alot!

Unfortunately, my illness was growing and I found myself needing to lay down for a bit once I got back to the apartment. Mark made a run to the pharmacy and picked me up some brazilian medicine. The pills he gave me come in 2 parts in little punch out packets. They aren't kidding when they say that a type is made for the night. I definately got drowsy - but it did make a difference.

With that, I was off to bed for much needed sleep. I would wake up at 5:20 the next morning to prepare for my 7AM flight into Belo Horizonte, ultimately finding me in Ouro Preto.

I really can not express how much I enjoyed my stay in Brasilia. I'd been a little skeptical of the city before visiting because it didn't seem like there was much to see, but time and time again, here it seems, I am proven wrong. I learned alot about home life and kindness even through a language barrier, the importance of design and planning, and the power of Brazilian medicine!


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Home cooked meal!Home cooked meal!
Home cooked meal!

Mark's Aunt, Uncle, and cousin Henrique.
Only authorized, exact copy of the Pieta.Only authorized, exact copy of the Pieta.
Only authorized, exact copy of the Pieta.

I have also seen the original, in Italy.


Tot: 0.186s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 33; qc: 120; dbt: 0.1227s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb