Africa in Brazil


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Bahia » Salvador
March 17th 2008
Published: March 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Salvador yesterday, after my flight from Manaus, with a connection in Sao Paulo (which is like going from Haifa to Jerusalem through Beer Sheva). Of course, my luggage did not arrive to Salvador (or actually the cover did, the backpack did not). I did not lose anything too important, so I am perfectly fine with it.
Salvador itself is a very nice place. Everyone here is black, so it really is like a piece of Africa, and of course there is lots of capoeira stuff around. Mostly it is just tourist souvenirs, but there are some academies and classes, which I plan to go to. There are also lots of nice churches and old buildings, because Salvador was the first capital of the Brazilian territory (before Rio).
I plan to stay here (luggage and all), a few more days, and stay in the area even longer (Morro de Sao Paulo, Lancois).
Also, I uploaded photos from the jungle to my previous post, take a look. I was too lazy to write what each photo is, but try to find the animals, sometimes they are hard to see (some time they are not there - I am evil).

Advertisement



Tot: 0.255s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0969s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb