The Mighty Amazon


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Amazonas » Tefé
March 16th 2008
Published: March 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I came back from my visit to the Amazon jungle. I went to Mamiraua reserve, which is a really great place. I stayed in a floating lodge, which is useful, because the whole area is a flooded forest, and water levels rise 10 meters during the rainy season. The reserve is an hour and a half from Tefe (the big city), which is only accessible by plane or boat, so it´s really in the middle of nowhere.
I saw quite a few different animals, including capuchins, squirrel monkeys, red howler monkeys (and they make a lot of noise), and one white uacari monkey jumping between trees (look them up, they look real funny), sloths (they´re really hard to spot), cayman, river dophins (gray and pink), and lots of birds.
When I got to the lodge, there was one other guest there (who was an executive producer for the BBC, and he had a team working in the area), but he left after 2 days, and I was the only guest for my last 2 days. It was really fun being on a canoe ride or a hike with 2 guides (one native guide, and one guide to translate).
Because the area is a flooded forest (it floods an area the size of England), the trails tend to get flooded in the wet season, which is starting now, so we mostly had canoe rides or motor boat rides around.
I will upload photos when I find a normal internet connection.

I am at the airport in Manaus now, waiting for my flight to Salvador, from where I will head back to Rio.



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0296s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb