Tupiza or not Tupiza


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » Potosí Department » Tupiza
September 30th 2007
Published: September 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

ToCToCToC

Me at the Tropic of Capricorn, whatever that is
After our final night's camping (and the last bush camp) until we get on the Inca trail, we headed north towards the border with Bolivia. My night's sleep wasn't great - I've suffered from sandfly bites in Salta and my left ankle now looks like a rhinos.

The border crossing was very smooth, despite my failure to understand basic Spanish when changing money up, and the kids who took a bit too much of a shining to our truck.

The roads in Bolivia seem to be roads by name alone. And when you're in a massive van with negligible suspension, it takes its toll. Not only on me, but also on the monkey fridge magnet I'd bought for JC - sorry mate.

We arrived in Tupiza at around 11 this morning to our first decent hotel since we've been here. The town itself seems small and largely deserted, but it is a Sunday. Not sure yet what the plan is for tomorrow. I don't fancy a bike ride because of my ankles (and you know my attitude towards exercise) so may take a trip to San Vincente, scene of Cassidy and Sundance's last stand. But now I'm going
ankleankleankle

Cankles, anyone?
to have my first hot shower and comfortable sleep for some time.

NB sorry for lack of photos - no USB ports. Though there is one on the PC I'm currently on but I got told off for trying to use it. You'll have to wait until my slideshow evening.

Advertisement



7th October 2007

Capricorn
The ToC is marks the most southerly latitude at which the sun can appear directly overhead at noon (at the Winter Solstice).....or so Barry tells me.

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0652s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb