Bolivia: La Paz and Salar de Uyuni


Advertisement
Published: November 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

From Puno I headed to Copacabana in Bolivia to visit the largest island on Lake Titikaka - Isla del Sol. It was while we were crossing the border that I overheard that there was a huge earthquake in Ica, where I had been less than two weeks ago. Very scary to think that people felt it not only in Lima, but also Arequipa and Cusco....!! Me, I was oblivious to everything...

I joined a large group of Argentinians whom I had met on the tour, and headed to La Paz. Very polluted and a lot of poverty - not a city that I particularly took to.

After La Paz, I decided to check out Salar de Uyuni, the largest salt lakes in the world. On the bus ride over there I bumped into Aurelie - a French girl that I had met on a travel website before leaving Australia and had caught up with on my first day in Lima. Our travel plans did not coincide after that so it was a nice surprise to bump into her out of nowhere!

The tour of the salt lakes was excellent and we spent 3 days travelling around in a 4WD, reaching the borders of Chile and Argentinia. The landscape was extremely rugged, beautiful and COLD! In fact I still don't have the feeling back in my 2 big toes...!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Woman and her llamaWoman and her llama
Woman and her llama

First time I ever had to pay for a photograph...
Hiking across the entire island with a group of mates is always easierHiking across the entire island with a group of mates is always easier
Hiking across the entire island with a group of mates is always easier

Actually we only met at lunchtime - the great thing about travelling and travellers! The hike was over 3hrs at 4000+ metres above sea level
Llama foetuses at the Witches MarketLlama foetuses at the Witches Market
Llama foetuses at the Witches Market

These are used for offerings to Pachamama (Mother Earth).
Adorable right?Adorable right?
Adorable right?

Wrong....! He spat right into the face of first person who tried to pet him (luckily not me)


Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 18; dbt: 0.0298s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb