The last of Peru (and South America!): Machu Picchu, Huaraz and the Amazon


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru
November 6th 2007
Published: November 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I had originally intended to trek the Inka Trail which involved a gruelling 4 days, but got sick at the last minute... I guess I didn't mind - I was too tired to care and after learning so much about the Inkas throughout my journey, it sounded like they were bullies who took what they wanted from older but more sophisticated cultures, posed as their own while diminishing the value of these supposedly heathen groups....!

When I arrived at Machu Picchu, it was white with fog, but after previous experiences I hoped that it would clear by the afternoon. True enough it did, and my first sight of these ancient ruins lush in the sunlight made me catch my breath, it really was beautiful... This soon faded when troops of tourists arrived and turned the place into a loud marketplace... Oh well..

I couldn't WAIT to escape the gringo trail - I had not had a very great experience in Peru so far and found the locals to be dismissive and not as warm as the Ecuadorians. Straight after Machu Picchu I headed north to Iquitos with anticipation. And yes, the people were much much nicer, but that very night I got food poisoning for 4 days..... It was the first time in 5 months that I had been sick (of course I had felt off now and then but nothing to write home about). So that pretty much ruled out cruising on a barge on a hammock to Leticia, the border of Colombia. I settled for a 2 night tour of the Amazon instead. It was okay though unfortunately I did not spot any wildlife...

From there it was to Chiclayo and Huaraz to check out one of the oldest cultures in Peru, the Chavin de Huantar.

From there it was straight to Lima and unbelievably, 5 whole months had passed in South America!! I am definitely returning, there is so much more to see and do! All in all a fabulous experience which I will never forget.....


Additional photos below
Photos: 44, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

There was musicThere was music
There was music

And a fanfare everytime someone arrived with a case of beer
Sacred ValleySacred Valley
Sacred Valley

This picture doesn't come close to capturing the magical energy that you feel when you are walking thru here, despite the hordes of tourists... In some ways much nicer than Machu Picchu
Inka stonesInka stones
Inka stones

These stones were dragged up ramps using rope tied to the protruding parts, which were then cut off. Seeing as they are still attached signifies that the building is not complete
Resident baby howler monkeyResident baby howler monkey
Resident baby howler monkey

She lost her mother and consequently gets very attached to women... very very cute!!
Got one! Got one!
Got one!

Our guide


6th November 2007

Inca
Hi mate, looks like you're having an amazing time! Have fun in the US.

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 11; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0632s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb