Death Road - I survived!!


Advertisement
Published: August 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Conversation with Sanj the day before -

R -´Guess what, I´m cycling on the World´s Most Dangerous Road tomorrow!¨
S ¨´WHAT? Don´t do it. when Manwell was there he said that some girl died. And you´re so clumsy you´re likely to fall off the bike. (Pause)
This might be the last time I speak to you. Please don´t do it......or at least if you do, go in the van´

Gee thanks for the vote of confidence! I did it anyway - and I am so glad I didn´t chicken out after hearing all the death stories and the fear in my boyfriend's voice!!! If you can ride a bike, are not stupid , ie have a thing about racing each other, decide to have an argument with your other half whilst cycling, or want to avoid getting wet under the waterfalls by cycling on the edge of the cliff, you will be fine. Only 3 tourists have died this year, due to the said i.e.s

The first bit of it is on paved smooth road, and it did get to the point when i thought, is this really that dangerous? The dangerous bit starts when the road splits in two - the new paved road, which most of the cars/trucks use now, and the old dirt track, which was, until last year used by traffic and cyclists.

Then it is pure downhill - on a dirt track 3 m wide, 300m vertical drop, winding around the mountains, and that is what makes it exciting, just knowing that a little loss of control and you´re a gonna, no saving you.

The scenery is pure wow-factor (appreciate it better when you stop for breaks, rather than when cycling) and most of the tour companies take you to a hotel for dinner and relaxation in the pool. Because I´m alone, i got tagged along to a group of 8 German youths, which I wasn´t too happy about (thanks Rij for the MP3 player - Bollywood rocks!!!) - I thought, great, if I die, the last people I see are a group of Shnitzels. But they turned out to be quite friendly in the end.

All in all, a great day, and as our tour company markets - ´Going down has never been so good´ - Have to say, I fully agree.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

 Death Road  Death Road
Death Road

3 metres wide, 300 m drop


30th July 2007

lol! i knew you`d do it! without falling, you speed demon you...
1st September 2007

reema
hi... oooh wow o my gosh uv done a really amazing thing

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 15; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0141s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb