A fews days of rest in Sorata


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » Sorata
April 4th 2007
Published: April 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

As I am trying to get back to date on my blog entries this will be a pretty short one, mainly just to display some pictures.

After rushing back from a border crossing to obtain a new tourist visa, since this could not be done in La Paz, for a meeting with CUSO and my employer, I decided I needed a few days to relax so I decided to go to Sorata again to do this. Jumping on a bus later in the afternoon, it took a good four and half hours to get to Sorata. Kind of wished that I took a minibus instead of a full-sized bus to Sorata as they are quicker and probably can manouever better around the corners as you have to descend quite a bit to get to Sorata.

The first morning I woke up to pouring rain and this continued all morning until around lunch hour. Walking around in the late morning and early afternoon show the aftermath of the rain, and that would be the landslides that it had caused all around town. I ended up running into my friends Sandra and Aaron before they headed back to La Paz in Sorata, and saw them again briefly when I encountered their minibus stuck in the mud left from a mudslide. The remainder of the day, I hiked around Sorata and laid back and read a book.

The next day, after another long night of sleep, I headed back to La Paz in the late morning by minibus. Thankfully, I was able to get the front seat so I had lots of leg room. On the highway back to La Paz, I noticed many people walking along the side of the road and the old man beside me told me that they were walking to Copacabana to be their for Good Friday as part of a pilgrimage that takes place every year. Pretty dedicated people!

Anyhow, enjoy the pics of Sorata!


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

School of IdiotsSchool of Idiots
School of Idiots

Big difference is you change the 'm' to a 't' in the Spanish word for language "idioma"
Landslide!Landslide!
Landslide!

Heavy rains during the morning caused landslides all around Sorata
How far is La Paz?How far is La Paz?
How far is La Paz?

Might be 115km but it takes 3 hours in a vehicle


Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 18; qc: 99; dbt: 0.1079s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb