Visa Expired --- Have to leave the country for a day


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Puno » Lake Titicaca
April 1st 2007
Published: April 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Getting a courtesy visa extended and converted into a tourist visa is not so easy I found out. At the immigration office, they told me that I would have to leave the country to be able to obtain a new tourist visa for the three weeks I had left before my flight back to Canada. So after a night on the town Friday to celebrate our last day of work, I headed to the Peruvian border to the town of Desaguadero to stay the night so I could reenter the country the next day. Luckily, the Peruvian border is only two hours away but the trip to the border was still energy draining. Didn't really matter that I didn't have much energy, but there was really nothing to do in Desaguadero so I mainly just wandered around to make myself tired, ate a restaurant serving chicken (which is all you could get here) and read a book before falling asleep. The next day I got out of bed and left for the border when getting my new stamps in my passport didn't take very long... I don't even think they looked at the picture in my passport 😊 Made it
Welcome To Peru!Welcome To Peru!Welcome To Peru!

Didn't think I would be back in Peru during this trip.
back to La Paz early in the afternoon to enjoy my last three weeks in Bolivia.

Not an overly exciting weekend, but a weekend none the less.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Now here is all the gasNow here is all the gas
Now here is all the gas

I have been out of gas for three weeks and all the gas seems to be here on the Peruvian side of the border.


Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 22; qc: 104; dbt: 0.0877s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb