Catch up


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » La Paz
October 5th 2006
Published: October 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

This last week had been really busy which is good because I don’t want it to drag by, the faster it goes the better. I have not been able to spend much time out at Alalay this week, but still get there each day, because there is so much going on in the city each night. My life at the moment seams to be all buses. I spend so much time on them or waiting for them. I think I average about 80 to 100 kms on buses each day. Probably about 60 minutes waiting on a good day and I probably walk between 6 and 10 kms as well, usually in the oven like atmosphere of the dry dessert like landscape around Alalay or Highlands.

Tuesday night was a big fundraising dinner for Alalay which was really flash and decadent. The tickets were 50 Bolivians each which isn’t much for us but a similar event at home would probably of being asking for 75 or 100 dollar a head tickets. The crowd was mostly wealthy business types and it felt quite funny mixing with the suits and flash dresses in my jeans and t-shirt (NZ themed t-shirt of course, got to represent)

There was a lot free wine and beer and a huge selection of amazing food prepared by a massive selection of chefs. It was standing room only, maybe 1200 people, and you really had to be quite forceful to get to the foods you wanted. I gave up when it came to the dessert table; there were just too many eager women who looked dangerous if I got between them and the chocolate covered fruit kebabs. So, it was a good night and I think we all enjoyed eating food that was a great change from our usual diet.

Wednesday night was street work night which just meant playing soccer with the street kids and hanging out with them. Those they know better Spanish try and get them to want to come to Alalay and leave the streets. It’s quite a depressing scene with young mothers sniffing glue and ignoring their kids. But it makes you realise that with all the faults Alalay has it is a huge improvement for these kids over what they have.

Tonight is a kind of farewell dinner to some friends from the states who are going home for a holiday. So after this I will shoot out to Alalay again for a few hours then come back in for dinner. Tomorrow will be a great day, I’m taking one of James science classes at school; I’m going to teach them about combustion and the elements of fire. Who better to teach that subject? So I have to prepare a lesson plan between now and then.

Friday after school James, Julie, myself, James´ Principal (El Director) and wife and a few kids are going camping and fishing for the weekend. Then it only leaves Monday and Tuesday which I will probably spend shopping for presents. I have a huge list of things I have seen over the weeks which I need to start chasing down.

If anybody wants anything, put it in the comments section or email me. You have 5 days.

So everything is full throttle till I leave which is great. I have loved my time here, it has been more amazing then I can describe, but I’m more then ready to come home.

Adventures of a Lifetime
Access Trips offers a unique range of instructional adventure travel worldwide. Learn a new sport, develop a creative passtime, or work as a volunteer while traveling to exotic locations with Access Trips' expert instructors. Our adventure tours are open to all abilities.







Advertisement



5th October 2006

lesson plan? whats that? Bring me back one of those. They sound useful. tuk, beanie, hat, they thing they all wear, as is my impression of what they do in .... ah, Hatland.
6th October 2006

di divett
just been catching up on news - all sounds too amazing - and plese ensure you give our love to the bellinghams. perhaps you can learn more about lesson plans when you come home by helping andrew do kids church?! what do you think? di x

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb