Lake Titicaca and sightseeing at 120kmh


Advertisement
Published: October 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Copa from a HillaCopa from a HillaCopa from a Hilla

Copacabana from a hill where people come to worship and pray for houses and cars and stuff. See, its not a lake, it can't be. Seriously.
Lake Titicaca is a surreal place. Its massive, more like a see or an ocean then a lake. Its bigger then some countries…. maybe. I’m guessing on that one, but it sure seams like it could be…

The whole time I was in Copacabana my eyes, my nose, every sense was telling me I was at a beach, I was looking at the sea, the boats, the smell of outboards burning fuel, everything about it made it feel like you were on the east cost somewhere. But you cant be because you’re standing at 13,000 feet above see level. I short walk up a hill will testify to that.

Its so strange, you’re at a beach and walking along the waters edge and you can fill your water bottle up straight from the lake if you want to. Its perfectly fresh. The whole area is so dry because of the altitude, brown hills and dusty fields lie right next to billions of trillions of liters of fresh water. It’s a really crazy place. The photos are the best way I can describe it.

However, I found the best way to explore it was to hire a 175cc Dirt
TransportTransportTransport

They do things bigger here.
bike and go scouting. Most of the photos are from the drive. It was a lot of fun and a blast to finally be controlling a motorized vehicle again… until I crashed in town…. Or should I say the bike crashed on me. There was more damage to the bike then me, I’m fine, and luckily I only had to pay Bolivian prices to get the bike fixed.

Hire, 8 NZD an hour…

Cost of broken parts, 15 NZD total…

Sightseeing at 120km per hour… Priceless.

Photos coming soon.-

Adventures of a Lifetime
Access Trips offers a unique range of instructional adventure travel worldwide. Learn a new sport, develop a creative passtime, or work as a volunteer while traveling to exotic locations with Access Trips' expert instructors. Our adventure tours are open to all abilities.





Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Copa KidsCopa Kids
Copa Kids

These kids just really wanted me to take their photo.
Sunsets at CopacabanaSunsets at Copacabana
Sunsets at Copacabana

Awesome. How is this a lake.
From the hillaFrom the hilla
From the hilla

The path up the hill is steep and hard work at 13,000 feet. There are 14 of these crosses which you are meant to stop at on your way up to pray.
Me and my dirt bikeMe and my dirt bike
Me and my dirt bike

My 175cc dirt bike and the open road.
Me and my dirt bikeMe and my dirt bike
Me and my dirt bike

Just reflecting about life and stuff
More reflectionMore reflection
More reflection

Can never have enough time to reflect on life. This trip has been awesome for that. I have learnt so much about myself. Thank you God.
BoatsBoats
Boats

Colourful ones.


4th October 2006

Great read
Thanks for the Blogs Ryan, Gives us a great laugh each morning. Amazing journey, we take our hat off to you. Keep the blogs coming, you're a gifted writer. Put them together for a book (best-seller) when you return.

Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 70; dbt: 0.0738s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb