Last days


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » La Paz
October 9th 2006
Published: October 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The carparkThe carparkThe carpark

7.30pm and we have only just started out on our hike. Notice the two crazys on the end. Those are a couple of James's students, lucky him. Actually they are all nice guys.
The last couple days in La Paz have been interesting to say the least. Friday after school we were meant to go camping with some of the students from James’ school. Instead of leaving at 4, we left at 5.30 which resulted in us getting to the car park (an empty valley between 2 mountains where we couldn’t 4WD any more so we stopped) at 7.30, it was dark and we still had a good hour hike to the camp site. Lucky for us shortly after arriving and the sun going down a full moon came out and that combined with the cloudless sky helped us get there safely.

We camped by a lake at about 4,700 m with the intention of going fishing in the morning. After another sleepless night, it’s just so hard to sleep at that altitude because your normally shallow breathing during sleep doesn’t supply your body with enough Oxygen so you keep waking up to take deeper breaths. It’s really annoying.

In the morning, another beautiful day, the students unpacked a rifle and starting trying to kill anything in sight. The only casualty was a can of sardines which only Julie could hit, on her first try as well - shame boys. Yes, the animals were extremely safe from the boys. Fishing was given away as there looked to be nothing in the lake and most everyone was tired and tried to sleep again so for most of the day we all just sat around the campsite and enjoyed a thoroughly relaxing day.

This ended up being too much for me so when we left to walk back to the truck, I left an hour earlier then the others and then leaving my pack at the truck ran out they way we came in. I ran from 4,600 meters to 3,700 meters on a gravel 4WD track. 2 hrs and 20 kilometres later they finally caught up with me. (its not that impressive, I only ran when on the downhill’s, at that altitude the downhill’s are like the flats back home and the inclines are impossible. I must say I’m regretting it today though. I’m stiff as a board.

Today we woke up to another La Paz blockade. Bolivians like to strike and this time they have blocked off the city from everything else. If they do this on Wednesday I will be stuffed, no chance of getting to the airport. So instead of having to go to School, James got an impromptu day off, which he was very excited about. He usually hates Mondays, but today he has been bouncing off the walls all morning.

I struggled my way into town to do the last of my shopping for presents. This meant a taxi ride with 3 failed attempts to get past the blockades and then a 45 min walk. Getting out was slightly better, it only took 2 attempts by my taxi driver to find a way out.

Tomorrow will be mostly spent seeing everybody and saying my good byes and going out to Alalay to pack up the rest of my stuff, something I haven't been able to do because of the blockades. I really can’t wait to get on my way. I have already left in my head and I just need my body to catch up. I can’t wait to see everyone again. 3 More days. YEAH….

Who wants duty free, let me know. I have no orders as yet.

Adventures of a Lifetime
Access Trips offers a unique range of instructional adventure travel worldwide. Learn
Hanging out around our campfireHanging out around our campfireHanging out around our campfire

The night was so so cold... This fire bearly made a dent in the cold.
a new sport, develop a creative passtime, or work as a volunteer while traveling to exotic locations with Access Trips' expert instructors. Our adventure tours are open to all abilities.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

The morning afterThe morning after
The morning after

Perfect day and only us about to enjoy it.
Our Camp siteOur Camp site
Our Camp site

Isn't cool... Isn't it small... Isn't everything so large.


Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb