Day 2


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » La Paz
April 5th 2006
Published: April 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

NOTHING starts your day like a nice, luke-warm-turning-cold, shower. Yes, that´s right, it was so cold i couldn´t feel vital parts of my body.

Oh, and before I forget, I had llama steak. And it was so leathery and chewy that I couldn´t feel my jaws when i was done (I know of someone who would´ve really enjoyed it in the past). Though, I have to say the meat was quite flavourful. And those HUGE corns! oh and they make huge popcorns with those huge corns on the street.

I stumbled upon a street corner last night that reminded me of Times Square in NY. That´s right, the corner was so well lit you didn´t even need a flash to take pictures. And people were bustling around. The only difference was that this was a street that sold... you guessed it, LIGHTS. A street full of vendors selling halogen lamps and fluorescent lights, out side, with wires running around everywhere. Too bad I didn´t have my camera with me.

Today I went to Plaza Pedro D Murillo. Some kind of spanish cathedral. Blah blah blah, not too exciting. But the plaza in front of the cathedral, children running around, magnificent statues, and PIGEONS!!! SO MANY PIGEONS!! I took some pictures which I will upload when I´m not being charged for computer usage. Someone once told me that there are alot of pigeons in Rome, well if it´s anything like this... then WOW.

I also walked around taking pictures of the markets. The shoe-shiners here where ski-masks, maybe it´s a shameful profession? Or they´re trying to make a fashion statement. But one of them shoo-ed me away as i was taking a pic of him.

I also walked through the textile street, not unlike the ones in Oaxaca, Mexico. Beautiful weaves. There was a Coca Museum, so I went in there and signed my name on the guest book.

Now the highlight of my day. The Witches Market (Mercado de Hechiceria). Basically it´s the local indigenous people selling herbs and tonics. But I saw llamas... DRIED LLAMAS. Not cut up, not in a jar, in it´s complete original form. Little baby llamas. Eyes and teeth and everything. Really quite shocking....

OK that´s it for me so far... oh yeah and I´m still alive. =)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1275s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb