Shiny Shoes Anyone ?


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » La Paz
June 28th 2008
Published: June 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I have now worked my way up to La Paz, by way of a rather rickety overnight train from Uyuni to Oruro, and then a 4 hr bus journey into La Paz. The bus journey even had entertainment included - in the form of some sort of mad Bolivian preacher, who spent the entire journey trying to convert us all to some type of religion that could have been anything with my knowledge of Spanish.

Once there I decided that it wasn't a good place to not know where you are going, as every street involved either a sharp uphill walk or downhill walk, so it was dodgy taxi time!!
It must also be the place in the world with the shiniest shoes, as there are shoeshine boys everywhere - good job I was wearing my hiking boots - no use to them!!
I decided to splash out whilst staying here ( as it was so cheap) and booked myself in to the five star plaza hotel for a few days. Well worth it. I had dinner in their rooftop restaurant on the Friday - A 3 course meal, a nice bottle of wine and all for less than 8 quid!!
I took a city tour on the Saturday with a difference - I was the only one on it , and I was chauffeured around for a few hours to see the sights - quite cool!! - Although the tour guide did seem keep spending a lot of time trying to convince me that he had a lot of other tours ( all at exuberent prices!!) that he thought I should go on!!!

On the Saturday evening, I went out to get some food at a restaurant recommended to me, and never quite made it - I stumbled upon a huge gathering of bands and various local dancing going on in one of the main squares, and overflowing all over the place - my only regret is not taking my camera - but there was no way I was ever going to be able to make it back to the hotel to get it. The atmosphere was electric, and it was absolutely packed out. I tried some of the local food from the stalls - it tasted lovely, but I still have no idea what it was that I was eating!

Sunday morning was a bit strange
Presidential GuardsPresidential GuardsPresidential Guards

Obligatory tourist photo
as well - walked out of the hotel, and all along the main street were stalls trying to recruit people into the Bolivian police force-army-fire service etc. But with the amount of firearms on show - you were never quite sure that´s what it truly was!


I´m now off to Copacobana ( not the one in Brazil unfortunately). So will give an update from there





Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



30th June 2008

Fat Boy Fodder
See the old waist line is burgeoning again Trev. 3 course meals on your budget - and a bottle of wine? How come you no sign up for the guerrilla army? Heading north fast now, so watch it if you hit Lima and Callao!
2nd July 2008

These Boots Were Made For Walking
This seems to be a more interesting location for you Trev. Excellent photoes, who is the man alongside the presidential guards?, He looks well. Looks as though he has been enjoying some of the local sustinance like the same man in the view out over La Paz. Time for the man to go trekking me thinks!! Never mind about shiny shoes, "These boots were made for Walking" Keep having fun. Love Mum x
3rd July 2008

Shiny Shoes
Hi Trev, You are certainly getting about. Sounds like you are enjoying yourself. As you say with your hiking boots on you don`t need them shined!!!! Keep up the good work. Take care of yourself. Your Mum and I had a good day in London last Saturday. Best wishes Brenda Maggs

Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb