Lake Titicaca - It took my breath away!!!


Advertisement
Published: July 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sunset over Lake TiticacaSunset over Lake TiticacaSunset over Lake Titicaca

This was the view from my hotel room - can't get much better than that!!
Having arrived in Copacobana, via another of Bolivias lovely buses!! I found my hotel ,and it was literally on the shores of Lake Titicaca - The view was superb.

I arranged to go on a boat trip over to the Isle Del Sol the following day - The island was believed to be the the birthplace of the sungod of the Incas.

It was a lovely bu gruelling day, as it involved trekking up and down mountain peaks at over 4000m above sea level, for about 10km. I was a dead man crawling by the end of the day, and was glad that the boat journey back took nearly 2hrs, as it gave me a chance to collapse!!!

Once I was back at the hotel, I was just in time to see the sunset over the lake - not too shabby.

Heading off to Puno today, which is in peru and at the other end of Lake Titicaca.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

I just want to CollapseI just want to Collapse
I just want to Collapse

What an unfit person looks like just having climbed the highest peak on the Isle del Sol


2nd July 2008

Dead Man Walking
God you look rough Trev! Couldn't you find a couple of sherpahs or batti-wallahs to carry you over those peaks? Damn fine sunset!! Sorry, but I had to fix you Mum's laptop so that she could keep up with your travels. THERE IS NO ESCAPE! That means more of those corny anagrams I fear - but she does mean well, bless her. Enjoy Perrrrroo. You must try a Pisco Sour when chilling in the bar. Famous local cocktail and not too bad at all. In fact, have one for me! By the way, I was HMS Minerva's Peruvian Pizza Eating champion 1987!! Never knew that did you!!
3rd July 2008

Cats Eyes!
Cool shades Trev, Did you see the two cats eyes in Lake Titicaca? Phil will love this one!(cat i cat i ). I had forgotten what a dead man crawling looked like, the last time I was witness to that was when you celebrated your 18th birthday!! Once again lovely photographs. Carry on exploring Love Mum x
6th July 2008

Cats Is
Stick to the day job Poos!

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb