There's injuns on these hills too!


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » Copacabana
January 13th 2013
Published: January 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Ethnographic MuseumEthnographic MuseumEthnographic Museum

Main Entrance
My travelling seems to be prompted subconsciously by my school geography lessons and projects I have taught. Lake Titicaca and its relevance to the indigenous Indians was fun to teach, yet again though it is the vastness of the lake that is so striking When I actually saw it - or rather part of it! We had two ferry crossings to make, the first one from Copacabana involved a separate pontoon crossing for the bus, I told my guide that I had photos of my father crossing the river in Africa in an identical manner, Daniel's comment was that the pontoons were very old, they were built in 1950. I didn't say a word!

The indigenous leader was the first king - he is seen showing strength with his gesture.

There are two islands in the lake which have a mystical meaning for the people - Sun and Moon island. At various festivals thousands of people come to the island to take part in the ceremonies, which involve climbing over 200 steps up to the height of over 4000 m. Well there was no ceremony and no mercy - up to the top I went huffing and puffing but the view was incredible. I saw Peru to one side and Bolivia of course. In the past the local people cultivated as much land as possible, even on the steep hills, the steppes are still there and some are even still used. I think it is possible to understand that a location can affect people so strongly. On the ferry back I had my first impromptu conversation in Spanish with a family - very brave!



There are more than 30 different tribes in Bolivia, each one having its own dress code, customs etc. (The ladies do not use anything to hold on their bowler hats, which together with the special shoes cost them in the region of £700! Daniel said he did not buy his wife more than one set!) There is a museum which houses the most wonderful collection of textiles, masks and feather work which I am so pleased to have found. Have a look....


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Hand made potteryHand made pottery
Hand made pottery

The potter does not use a wheel to make these jugs.


13th January 2013

Injuns on hills
The main photo did not publish... I'll try again next time, sorry!
14th January 2013

Copacabana
Did you meet Lola at Copacabana? Ha! Ha! I could not help myself! Your Spanish must be better than you think if you had a conversation with a family! Wonderful!
14th January 2013

Lola....
She was hiding -but there were others lol!

Tot: 0.282s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0602s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb