First bolivian post...


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » Copacabana
January 27th 2011
Published: January 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hola todos !!

This morning I arrived in Bolivia.
I took a bus from Puno, Peru to Copacabana, Bolivia. Basically I went along the Lake titicaca and I crossed the border at
This time, everything went very smoothly. The bus stopped at the peruvian migration office, I got my exit stamp, then walked 300m to the bolivian migration office and got my entry stamp !! Simple as that. Then, the bus dropped us at Copacabana at 12h45.

I wanted to go straight to the Isla del Sol, but the boats leave twice daily, at 8.30am and 1.30pm. Well, I had enough time you will think. Indeed, I had enough time theoratically (45 min lag) to take the boat. But I had no cash on me, and believe it or not, there is no ATM in Copacabana !!!!! The only way is to get some advance cash at the bank with the VISA card. And the bank opened (theoratically) at 2pm. Actually it was 3pm. So I stayed in town and decided to grab a boat tmrw at 8.30am.
Well, Copa is a tourist-ready town. 90% of the buildings are hostals, restaurants, money exchange, tour agencies for the islands, and bus comanies for almost everywhere you want. This side of the lake is very touristic because it is a stop-over between Lapaz and Cusco. Lots of americans, canadians, argentinians and some europeans too !!

You will get more infos (and amazing pics) of the lake in the post "Lake Titicaca".

Keep in touch !! Besos

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1023.5kb