Copacabana and Lake Titicaca


Advertisement
Published: May 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Tues night I headed out of Peru and into Bolivia. This time I decided to spend a little more money on a bus ticket so I could have a nice bus, since the ride is about 11 hours. The bus company sounded great, the pictures were good, and they were going to get me quickly to Copa. But that was all a lie. It was a cramped bus, left late, smelled strongly of urine, no dinner, no movie, no blanket, no heat...And when they said they would get me to Copa, they actually meant they would drop me off at 5am in the middle of no where where I had to find and pay for a collectivo (local van) to take me to the border...which didnt open till 8am...so I stood in the rain/hail for two hours, finally crossed the border (was charged an extra 5 dollar fee for not having a photo...??) and paid for another ride into the city...But I made it safely so I guess it all worked out.

The lake is huge and beautiful. The first day I walked around the town (not a whole lot to see), rented a kayak for an hour or so, hiked a little mountain for some good views, and ate some yummy fresh fish. The second day I took a boat to the Isle de Sol, where I was told I would have a few hours to hike around. But as we arrived the boat driver told us we only had 40min... We (me and a few others I met on the boat) were pretty frusterated, but hiked to the top of the island for some pics then ran down to catch our boat ride. I think we spend about 4 times as long boating than actually walking on the island. It was still pretty cool to see the lake...heres a little info: Its the largest lake in South America, it is at 3812m above sea level making it the highest navigable lake in the world, and its pretty famous for the Inca history because its believed that the first king was born here and its apparently the place where the world was created. Who knew.

After that I took a bus ride to La Paz and checked into my hostal. So far it seems like a pretty cool place. Theres a kitchen, multiple TV rooms, free internet, free pancake breakfast, a bar, a free beer each day, and a lot of organized events. Tomorrow Im going to explore the city and my friend comes in a day or so and then we are off to ride the World´s Most Dangerous Road.

Ill post pics of the lake when I find a faster internet connection.

Advertisement



1st June 2009

That sounds like a horrible bus ride. :( Glad you made it though. I like that the hostal gives you a free beer everyday. Miss you!!

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0335s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb