Road trip with Romy


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina
May 17th 2004
Published: May 17th 2004
Edit Blog Post

Inlet not far from UshuaiaInlet not far from UshuaiaInlet not far from Ushuaia

Just one of the many amazing views we got drivng north from Ushuaia
Well after getting back from waving Silvia and Dany off at the airport on thursday afternoon, Romy the girl with the van, was ready to leave right away so me and Mike quickly packed up all our stuff, said our goodbyes to everyone at the hostel and got on the road. It was sad to drive away from Ushuaia, I'd had such a great time there with all those great people, but I couldn't really pass up an opportunity like this.
Romy turned out to be real cool too, and she didn't speak english either so it was fun practicing my feeble spanish with her. We drove pretty much non-stop for 30hrs and had no trouble apart from the having to stop for a couple of hours in a pokey little town to get the air-conditioning pully replaced.(it's bearings had fallen out and it was making some horrilbe noises, no worries mate) Mike also had a bottle of red wine left over so we drank that and ate crackers to pass the time.
We finally got to Bariloche at midnight on friday, so we checked into a cheap hotel and said goodbye to Romy who would accept nothing more then a bit of gas money for her efforts. no complaints there. the next day turned out to be an absolute pearler so me and Mike spent most of the day checking out the city and walking around the waterfront. Bariloche is pretty much Argentina's answer to Queenstown, with it being based in the heart of the lakes district and has great skiing really close in the winter. I quite like to come back here in a month or so when there's a bit more snow and try and get a bit of snowboarding in, I'll have to keep an eye on my funds though apparently it's quite expensive.
Well tommorow morning I'm going to try my luck hitch-hiking up north to one of the bigger cities where I plan on studying spanish for a while, and Mike's off to pick up his bike from a nearby town and then ride over to Chile so I prob won't see him for a while either. He was a good dude I'm gonna miss having him around. I'll let you know how I go with the whole hith-hiking mission, apparrently quite a bit of traffic goes up that way so hopefully I won't have to stand around in the rain for too long. 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0221s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb