Hola from the end of the world: South America


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Tierra del Fuego » Ushuaia
March 14th 2017
Published: March 14th 2017
Edit Blog Post

It took almost 30 hours to make it down here but I arrived in rainy Ushuaia on Sunday night! The flight in was apparently Mother Natures way of preparing us for the Drake. The plane popped around the skies like it decided to become a roller coaster. Apparently Patagonia likes to welcome visitors with a little thrill!!

I met some fellow passengers on that flight and at the hotel. I spent the day Monday exploring the town and hit a couple museums with Andy from London. Had a great time getting to know one of my shipmates while we peeked around some shops. He is a bad influence because I now own polka dot adidas sneakers that are adorable. I saw them and he encouraged me to purchase! ?
Last night my roommate from Australia arrived which was a surprise at the hotel because they never told me I would have a roommate. The room was a mess of repacking but she's great and gave me time to throw my stuff to my side of the room.

Today a group of us willl be heading to the national park for the morning and then report to the hotel at 1:30 to begin our 7th Continent adventure. Tierra del Fuego was beautiful but apparently overrun with beavers which were brought there from Canada and have massively overproduced with no natural predators. Most of our tour was in Spanish so we received limited info but it was clear that beavers are bad. No one wants to wear their fur and no one wants to eat them. Lesson...if you bring in a species with no predators at least make sure they're tasty? We also found out that Condor Mountain's crest separates Argentina from Chile. There was also a train ride that took the route prisoners used when they were sentenced to Tierra del Fuego.

After our little tour is was back to Ushuaia to start our advenute. Soooo excited! Fingers crossed the hurricane that pushed our boat back through the Drake has gone by now. ?

Catch you all from Antarctica!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Tierra del Fuego Tierra del Fuego
Tierra del Fuego

Beaver destruction


15th March 2017

Woo Hoo!
So great to hear your trip details Hope! I am so excited for you...sounds like you are off to a fabulous start no matter what Mother Nature has planned. I looked forward to your entries! Much love and warmth sent your way! Anne
15th March 2017

Surprise!
Suprise and roommate are two words that should never be in the same sentence.
15th March 2017

polka dot adidas sneakers
Can't wait to see the new shoes!!!

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb