¿Hablas español? Hapana.


Advertisement
Antarctica's flag
Antarctica » Antarctica
March 7th 2017
Published: March 7th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Less than a week to go and my anxiety about getting myself around Argentina is growing. My 3 months of Spanish is 9th grade has completely abandoned my brain and while I find myself understanding basic greetings my responses come to me in Kiswahili. Como esta? Nzuri sana. Perhaps I will randomly come upon the one Argentinian who speaks Kiswahili? Hey, I met a couple from Tanzania in the Austin airport as I ate ice cream for breakfast so anything is possible!

I did find an airport transfer company that was recommended on Trip Advisor and had an English booking system, so I am set for my arrival in Buenos Aires on Sunday. I have 5 hours to get across town to the smaller airport so even with some issues should be fine. Let us discuss how many hours I will be on planes! 4 to Houston, 10.5 to BA, 5 hour transfer time from one side of BA to the other, and then another 3.5-4 hour flight to Ushuaia! This might make my journey's to Africa seem uncomplicated and easy. But then, thankful for planes! This trip would be nearly impossible without the miracle for flight. I've got my travel pillow, headphones, some entertainment and a strange little foot hammock I found on Amazon. Not sure if it will create a new level of comfort but if I've discovered the greatest thing since a bag of peanuts I will let everyone know!

Good news is that my bags appear to be at weight. Now, we won't discuss if my personal scale is off because then I am in fact heavier than I think! I ordered a larger purse to stuff my heavier electronics in case they weigh my carry-on and I need to transfer weight. I have eliminated the "unnecessary" items from my bag so here's hoping I can also channel my ability to hand wash clothes like in Tanzania!

Adventure is just around the corner!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1324s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb