Ushuaia "Fin del mundo"


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Tierra del Fuego » Ushuaia
January 24th 2008
Published: February 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Beagle ChannelBeagle ChannelBeagle Channel

This pinguin is definitely going for a swim :)
Yes finally fin del mundo!!! 😊

When I arrived in Ushuaia, I felt directly the difference with BA. 9 degrees and a lot of wind!
But hey, it's not for nothing the most southern point in the world. I did several excursions.

First a boattrip on the Beagle Channel, where I saw for the first time in my life a bunch of real pinguins. Fantastic!!! I also enjoyed being outside on the boat admiring the beautiful landscapes.

Second thing was a walk on the "Martial glacier". During this trip I had the company of Carlos. A Argentinian teacher living in La Plata. The perfect situation to work on my spanish 😊 I enjoyed this great day and walked almost to the top.

Third thing was a visit to the Laguna Esmeralda. I went with Martin, a guy from Buenos Aires.
Really nice walk along the river and finally an amazing view on the laguna. We decided to go a little bit further than the laguna and it ended up in a real adventure where we had to climb up on trees and cross the river on a small floating tree. I felt like a real explorer 😊
Beagle ChannelBeagle ChannelBeagle Channel

Birds "pajaros" on a small island


Fourth thing was a day walking in the National park of Tierra del Fuego. We were 4 this time, Martin, Francisco, Fernando and me. In the bus they explained me the Argentinian way to play poker. I kept 2 things in mind: truco and invido. They told me that in Argentina I would learn 2 things: drink "Mate" and how to lie 😊

Mate is real tradition in Argentina. It's a real popular tea that you drink in a special bowl and that you share with your friends and family. It's a perfect moment in the day to have a nice talk and sharing all together the Mate.

That day we walked across the lake with views on the glaciers and we also had a nice pick nick. We also had of course our Mate moment and I really enjoyed this moment. I will defenitely buy my own bowl when I will be back in BA.

Of course I had also some fun in Ushuaia! 😊 I went with 2 girls from San Francisco to an Irish Pub to test the local Guinness. The company was defenitely better than the Guinness 😊

On a other
Martial GlacierMartial GlacierMartial Glacier

Uli trying to get to the top of the glacier :)
evening we went out with all the people of the youth hostel "Yakush". There I met also Gucchi, she was a journalist and photographer of BA and we changed a lot of ideas. After the party we went together to the bay of Ushuaia to see the beautiful sunset.

I spent defenitely a very nice time in Ushuaia!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 43, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

UshuaiaUshuaia
Ushuaia

Bay of Ushuaia
Beagle ChannelBeagle Channel
Beagle Channel

A bunch of sea lions being lazy on the rocks
Beagle ChannelBeagle Channel
Beagle Channel

A lot of pinguins on a island on the Beagle Channel
Beagle ChannelBeagle Channel
Beagle Channel

2 pinguins asking each other if it is a good idea to have a swim with all this tourists
Martial GlacierMartial Glacier
Martial Glacier

Me and Carlos, a guy from La Plata (near Buenos Aires)


7th February 2008

Ushaia
Fantastic experience Uli! Don't let the pinguins bite you at night! Did you go for a swim? Catch a whale? Enjoy, and bring us a polar bear home ... ( I believe you have to go a little bit north for that, but hek, keep trying)
8th February 2008

South America adventure
Hallo Uli, Beautiful pictures.It looks you are really enjoying the nice environment.Your spanish must be improving quickly with so nice ladies around you. We look forward for your next update Mamma en Papa

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0343s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb