Day 2, Ushuaia


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Tierra del Fuego » Ushuaia
January 11th 2008
Published: January 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Tierra del Feuogo from the plane Tierra del Feuogo from the plane Tierra del Feuogo from the plane

View of the mountains from the plane to Ushuaia
I´m still in Ushuaia, although in 24 hours i´ll be on my way to ´the Ice´which is the local term for Antartica. I´ll be gone for 12 days and I can´t wait, I had this trip in my mind since I saw it on RTE´s travel programme ´No Frontiers´ 2 years ago. It´s really warm here and today I sat out reading my book with just a t-shirt on. Yes you read right I was reading ! I finished a complete book on the journey here, which was called Dear John by Nicholas Sparks ( the guy who wrote the Notebook) . I found a book store that sells English books, so I´m now reading one about a girl from Oz who goes to work on the Ice as a cook. It takes 2 days of sailing to actually get to the Anartica so I´m hoping to do a bit of reading in those days. That´s if I find my sea legs, and don´t spent those days with my head overboard wretching.

Boy are those Spanish classes I did 3 years ago paying off, althouygh this is a big tourist town, Spanisg is still the main language evertywhere u go and not everyone speaks English in the shops and restranuts, although some do try. So by broken Spanish, accent and all are making a come back.

well i´ll be out of touch for the next 12 days, on my return i´m sure i´ll have lots of stories and photos to upload.
bye 4 now,
ali

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb