Rosario to Posadas


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Santa Fe » Rosario
March 5th 2009
Published: March 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Woke up late due to too much Salsa the night before. If not for that, then I was probably exhausted from using my hands and feet to talk to people. No one speaks English in those small towns I´m in, and my Spanish isn´t exactly um... fluent. However, if you need someone to get the bill, or the price of things ... I´m your girl.

Rosario is a cute big town. It is set along a river, which makes it very pretty. On the riverbank is a humongous monument for the flag. It marks the birthplace of the Argintine flag. After seeing that, I once again underestimated the distance and walked the 20 blocks to a museum I thought would be worth visiting. It was supposed to educate me on the Inca Tribe and their reign in Peru, Paraguay, Chile and Argentina. I got there only to discover that (as with everything else) it is only in Spanish. So sat on the floor inside and read my Lonely Planet Guidebook whilst looking at the exhibits.

On the way bck, I visited Che Guevera´s first home - the house he was born in. I didn´t spend much time in Rosario as it wasn´t that interesting and it´s a rather busy city - which I´m not a big fan of.

My overnight bus (12hr) to Posadas left at 18:00. I just HAVE to report on this. It´s amazing!!! The seat (business class size, by the way) forms into a bed, and they even serve dinner! I spent the first 10 minutes pressing every button to see what they do and played with the chair/bed: Bed, chair. Bed, chair. Yes ... this is how a lonely traveller entertains herself. There is just so much to do I haven´t had time to think! ;-) The only thing the seat doesn´t have is a fold up table, so I can write properly. That is just plain rude. They do have a blanket and pillow, though, so it wouldn´t have been necessary for me to ´borrow´ the Lufthansa one, which I have been senselessly lugging around.

An hour or so into the bus ride, I suddenly felt incredibly happy - like on a high. Perhaps it was the business class chair/bed .... hmmm ... I am very happy to be doing this trip.

Thoughts of the day:
Positive: I can understand spanish when I read it.
Negative: Unlike in Mexico, where they spoke slower and clearer, I don´t understand a word the Argentines say - even if it´s a sentence I already know. Their pronounciation is completely wrong! instead of pronouncing the ´ll´ in ´llama´ as ´y´ (as should be), they pronounce it as ´j´. This completely throws me.

Advertisement



6th March 2009

Go girl!
Hola Silv! Wanted to let you know I am avidly reading your updates so keep them comin'! I can sooo imagine you sitting down in the bus and pushing all the buttons and quietly squeaking to yourself in excitement. =) Carry on saying "Llama!" to people, randomly! Llama!
6th March 2009

ooooops
oops. cant type much. this is hard. sounds like you are having a ball and i enjoyed readin your post lots. looking foward to future updates. lots of love megan, mark, amy w and scott. xoxooxxoxoxoxoxox
6th March 2009

Charlie from Peanuts?
Haha, I've got this vision of you wandering around with a big backpack - trustee Lonely Planet book in one hand, Lufthansa safety pillow in the other... :p It's interesting to hear views about the cities from a totally different perspective, as I think I mentioned to you before not too long ago I read a book about someone who rode around South America on his motorcycle. I think he mentioned the cities you're visiting (or they could have been cities with similar names). His experiences with the South Americans re language were different though - he says when they saw him making an effort to speak the local language they were all very friendly and tried their best to speak slower and correct him where he went wrong. Maybe times have changed though, and more than likely he was only talking about the tiny in-the-middle-of-nowhere towns, and not large cities...
7th March 2009

So larky wan
Hi Silvy, I so envy your travel leh! Sound like a lot of fun fun wan. Do you have photo or not ah? If have can upload lah. Anyway, you take care when traveling hor! An keep writing! leslie
7th March 2009

Happy Birthday
Hey, thanks for the updates, looks like youre having lots of fun. Just want to wish you happy birthday on Sunday 8th. Chris

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb