Posadas


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Misiones » Posadas
March 6th 2009
Published: March 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I arrived very early in Posadas (by bus), so I went to town and sat on the esplanade along the river and watched the sun rise over Paraguay. Paraguay is just on the other side of the river (only 1km away). It is linked to Posadas, Argentina by a bridge. The sunrise was magnificant. Slowly, around 8am, the town began to awake, and people started to jog along the esplanade. It was Friday, and yet Posadas had a real holiday feel to it. It was very hot but nice and windy. There were many locals sitting around relaxing. Posadas doesn´t have much to offer in the way of tourism. Rather, it is an access point to the Jesuits Mission which I will see tomorrow.
The Jesuit Missions were in Brazil, Paraguy, Argentina and 1 in Uruguay. Here is the story: http://academic.sun.ac.za/forlang/bergman/real/mission/h_miss.htm

It was lunchtime and since I had decided to stay in this town afterall, I took the bus back to the busstation and picked up my backpack. When I returned into town, the town was dead! It was a ghost town (at 1:30pm!) what the! I went to investigate and realised that the town closes each day between 1:30 - 4:30 pm (i´m guessing this is siesta time). Now isn´t that a good idea! Not for me though, since I was starving and not even the supermarket was open.

In the evening, I decided to live life on the edge, and walked in the dark to the esplanade, to see Paraguay by night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb