The Glacier


Advertisement
Published: November 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

El CalafateEl CalafateEl Calafate

Chunks of ice that have fallen from the glacier
Morning all, I´ve got a few hours to kill before my bus so will try and be up to date on this for once. Mel left for her next destination this morning so I am once again on my own, though when thinking about it, since Amelia left, apart from a day in Buenos Aires I´ve been hanging around with people. I´m quite looking forward to this next step, it´s so easy to meet people and I will have no hesitation in going away by myself in the future, sorry nan!
Yesterday I went to see the glacier, and am so glad that I decided to head down this way as it´s something that I have never seen before and would have been gutted to have missed it, it was MASSIVE!! Chunks falling off all the time, it´s like a living thing getting bigger and bigger and walking on it was difficult but well worth it.
There was a gaucho festival on last night here as well so Mel and I got a bottle of wine and watched the gauchos (cowboys) riding unbroken horses as part of a comptetion, everyone was in national dress and it was really good to end my days spent with Mel around horses because they were the reason we met up and travelled together anyway.
So next stop is Bariloche, got my ticket for my 27 hour journey but have got the luxury seats, they are bigger, more comfortable and they feed you hot food on this one, usually I go the cheaper seats and it´s hit or miss whether you get hot food or just a sandwich. They seem to love cheese and ham sandwiches, that´s all you get, now I love cheese and ham but it can get a bit much. There are 2 guys staying in my hostel who are walking from Buenos Aires to Lima through Argentina, Chile, Bolivia and Peru for charity and they are on my bus so we´re going to get a few bottle in and have a bus party which will pass the hours.
See you on the other side all, love you miss you
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

El CalafateEl Calafate
El Calafate

Crampons, for gripping on the ice when you´re walking, takes a little getting used to.
El CalafateEl Calafate
El Calafate

It is sooooo big, and just keeps getting bigger, it´s like a living thing.
El CalafateEl Calafate
El Calafate

Such beautiful colours
El CalafateEl Calafate
El Calafate

A shot of whiskey after a hard day´s glacier trekking, with Brandee, my room buddy and glacier buddy.


Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 6; ; mem: 1.1mb